We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Always delicious and dependable"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Gourmet

Village Gourmet
22 Chestnut Hill Road, Norwalk, CT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 338 Restaurants in Norwalk
Restaurant details
Monroe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Always delicious and dependable"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were heading down to my mother's home to stay for storm "Sandy's" arrival, and I knew that I would be cooking for my family from a gas stove for the next few days... I made the executive decision that before the big storm we should have a meal out..or at least take out. We chose Village Gourmet. They were so busy 2 nights ago but like always they greeted us with a smile and a hot meal! We had been able to enjoy it after that night and for 2 more meals. We had the dumplings, the big bowl Szechuan soup, Pork Lo Mein, and The Sauteed Green Beans and Pork. Delicious and satisfying! We eat there almost every other month when we visit my mom's place. Thank you for being there before, during, and after storm "Sandy!" As always you are dependable! It was nice to see a smiling face and a wave from the person behind the door as we passed by after the storm as the rest of the world was getting back to normal. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We eat here at least once a month. The food is fresh and well made and the portions are large. You even get a free glass of wine with your meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Norwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The freshest, best Chinese in Norwalk, with daily regional cuisine specialties.
Addicted to their Vietnamese salad, that has jicama and mango.
Would give them 5-stars except that they don't deliver!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Bugs in my food and server wouldnt take my food back

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The food is very good, not great, but it gets the highest rating from me because of the value, you can bring your own wine or beer, and the service is very nice and competent. Great to have in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Village Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.