We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bellissimo Grande Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bellissimo Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Norwich Westerly Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359   |  
Hotel amenities
Marlborough, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Party Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

First time we stayed at the Bellissimo Grande and we would never do it again. We were staying one night and got in around midnight, noise was constant in adjoining rooms and it sounded like a frat party. You could hear everything through paper thin walls. Finally at 2 A.M. tried to call front desk to complain and all we could get was a recording. Had to get up and get dressed to go ask someone to have people in adjoining room quiet down. They did it but never monitored the situation and the noise continued through most of the night. No sleep for us. Door of adjoining room was propped open so more noise escaped. Complained next morning and was told they were sorry and that the owner would call us the next day. Imagine our surprise when he never did! This hotel is great for early 20's who like to stay up all night and party but not for anyone who goes to a hotel with the idea of sleeping at some point. Find another!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    121
    67
    37
    40
See reviews for
50
282
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at the Bellissimo for a quick weekend getaway, and I think that it was perfect for what we needed- a place to crash and hang out between visits to the casinos and other nearby attractions.

Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and the staff is extremely friendly. The room was very clean and nicely decorated- we chose the Sicilian with a king bed. The pillowtop mattress was very comfortable, and we didn't hear any noise from any of our neighbors even though we headed to bed before the hotel's mandatory quiet hours began (12 a.m.). Housekeeping did a good job of restocking the items in the room and tidying up a bit.

We checked out the pool, which was nice and warm but very small- which we expected from reading prior reviews. Overall, the stay was comfortable and convenient for what we had planned for the weekend.

The reason that I gave a lower score on service was due to the limo service to and from Foxwoods. We were told by the front desk staff AND the limo driver that the shuttle left the hotel on the hour every hour and would pick up at the casino every hour at 15 past. When it was time for us to return to the hotel from Foxwoods, the limo did not arrive at 8:15 as expected. We ran into a gentleman who was waiting as well and had also been given the same information. I decided to call the hotel at 8:45 and the limo driver told me that he didn't think that anyone would be coming back since no one wanted to take the limo down to the casino at 8pm...what does one thing have to do with the other?!?! He came right away, and when the gentleman who was waiting with us asked why he didn't come on time he said "Oh, all of the staff was watching American Idol so I couldn't leave the front desk and I figured no one would be coming back now anyway." I thought that the excuse was completely lame and that the service was unreliable. We drove every other time that we went down to Foxwoods because we didn't want to deal with the hassle.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticGuide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

The elegant lobby with the marble floor is just a stafrt but a good indication of what this hotel has to offer. #1 - the staff is great especially the limo driver. #2 the rooms are really comfortable - we had a choice of a pillowtop or temperpedic mattress - heaven!
Close to Foxwoods - with the free limo back and forth (tip to the driver!) we were able to enjoy the area without feeling locked into the casino deal. Very close to Mystic and RI beaches. The Spa and restaurant were unexpectedly excellent.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

This Christmas Eve/Day visit was our second visit to the Bellissimo Grande since it opened a year and a half ago or so. We paid a very reasonable rate of $79 per night and were overall very satisfied. The reception staff were friendly. The rooms are much nicer compared to other area budget accomodations. The hotel has held up well since our first visit. The toiletries provided are still low-rent (Pantene and Vaseline brand shampoo and lotion), but the rate was much more reasonable so I didn't mind ($150 per night our last stay). They put a fan in the workout room, but it's still too small. Let's face it, no one is going to Foxwoods or Mohegan to work out.

The continental breakfast was pretty sad - no-name brand oatmeal and cereal, tasteless pastries. But there are plenty of better, more delicious and inexpensive breakfast options in the area (check out Olde Tymes Cafe or Jo's Country Skillet - loved by locals and tourists alike!). Tried the Japanese/Chinese restaurant next door to the hotel - food was okay, but service was slow.

  • Liked — Reasonable rate
  • Disliked — Breakfast was poor
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBGray
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed here because Foxwoods and the MGM was sold out. This place is much nicer than the Two trees in for about the same price. We ate at the Bistro and the service was horrible because they were either short on staff or did not have enough help other than that the food was good. They offer a limo shuttle service to Foxwoods which is great but there was way to many people going so you have to wait for them to go and come back for you. We just took our truck it was less than a 5 minute drive. The pool is very small but overall the rooms were nice, modern, and clean, the food was good and it was close to Foxwoods. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — the bed choice
  • Disliked — wait staff at Bistro
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Ma.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

our 4th visit and we still loved it Stayed two weeknights and it was great. Cetainly a bargain compared to the casino prices with free transportation to and from Foxwoods. Loved the pool---not too deep for a novice swimmer and the jacuzzi was great too. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful especially Chad the general manager. Large free buffet breakfast was also a winner

  • Liked — tempurpedic beds
  • Disliked — nothing my favorite hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

The Bellissimo Grande is a great place to stay if you are visiting Foxwoods. It's about 3 miles from the casinos. The staff is friendly and the limo service to and from the casinos is convenient -- no need to worry about drinking and driving.

The hotel is similar to a Hilton Garden Inn or a Hampton Inn, although they make an effort to be a little more artsy and fancy with an Italian theme. Continental breakfast is included, and the TempurPedic beds are terrific! The room-darkening curtains were great for an afternoon nap and for sleeping late.

We didn't have any problem with noise when we stayed (Columbus Day weekend) but there is, strangely, a large strongly-worded sign on the bathroom mirror threatening that the State Police will remove you from the premises if you are too loud after midnight. Yikes!!

Overall, a nice hotel and a very good experience. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellissimo Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellissimo Grande Hotel

Address: 411 Norwich Westerly Rd, North Stonington, CT 06359
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellissimo Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellissimo Grande is a luxury boutique hotel offering 164 well appointed suites located just minutes from Foxwoods Resort & Casino, Mohegan Sun, Mystic Coast and Country, and the sandy shores of Rhode Island. The Bellissimo Grande also features a Roman-inspired indoor pool, The Spa at the Bellissimo Grande and a fitness room. For your convenience, the Tuscany Lounge and Bistro are also available on a predetermined schedule to make your stay most enjoyable. The hotel offers room service and a coffee bar brewing Starbucks Coffee daily. All suites include access to in-room movies, in-room safes, wireless internet access, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards, coffee makers and 32" LCD television. A choice of either a Tempurpedic mattress or a Pillowtop mattress is available upon your request base on availability. All of the Venetian and Presidential suites offer a two-person Jacuzzi spa. Some Presidential Roman suites offer in-room fireplaces. Complimentary limousine service to and from Foxwoods Resort Casino is available on a predetermined schedule. We want you to enjoy the ambiance of Italy in this luxury hotel. The hotel is perfect for romantic getaways, bus tours, golf groups, corporate retreats and wedding blocks. The Bellissimo Grande is conveniently located off I-95 exit 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bellissimo Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellissimo Grande North Stonington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellissimo Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.