We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this country gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Stonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Inn at Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
119 Mystic Rd, Mystic, North Stonington, CT 06359   |  
Hotel amenities
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this country gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We wanted to stay in an old New England house and this Inn really fit the bill.
The owners, Mary and Jon, could not have been more hospitable. The entire house is beautifully furnished and our "Deacon Gray" room was superb. Imagine waking up each morning to a view of the well manicured grounds and gardens. The morning breakfasts were imaginative and tasty.
Every morning brought a new dining experience. For nature lovers the beaver pond on the property provided several hours of interesting animal interaction.
This home is well located and allows easy side trips to Mystic Seaport and Newport.

Room Tip: There are four lovely rooms but we would pick the Deacon Gray on a return visit even though it is up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you are visiting the Mystic area, this is the B&B to choose. It's far away enough from the busyness of the highways and area in general but close enough to get where you need to efficiently. We visited the Mystic art show for the day and stayed here overnight. It's really the perfect B&B located on nice property in a rural area in an old farmhouse. The owners obviously have cared for their property. We only stayed 1 night and could have stayed longer. The rooms surprisingly had AC, there was free wifi and even included complimentary drinks in a small accessible refrigerator in the common area. (And snacks if you're lucky!) The breakfast was great and probably some of the best ambiance I have ever experienced at a B&B.

Room Tip: Choose one with a country view so that you can view the property rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This B&B is an excellent place to stay. The Inn is located in a very peaceful and hidden rural spot. The big and harmonic garden is an invitation to read and relax. The interieur of the house conveys a very pleasant charme of the past and the rooms are very comfortable and clean.
The housekeepers Mary and John are the perfect hosts being very warm and friendly and offering outstanding service (e.g. including a free collection of drinks and free home made cookies available at all times).
The breakfast is of highest quality and is home made out of local goods. It consists of several courses and is freshly prepared in front of you (fruit salad, pan cakes, home made bread and jam etc).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I were at the Inn when our freak snow storm hit. Only 3 inches at the Inn, 17 inches at home, but no power. John got fires going in all the fireplaces, we had flashlights and candles. Mary still had a full breakfast for all of us. It was just a great time and the atmosphere was perfect.

We have booked our next stay. We plan on sitting out back and exploring the Inn's library.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just returned from a one night stay at the Inn at Lower Farm. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. The inn is located along a charming road that meanders through the countryside and makes it way into Mystic. The home has been beautifully restored and the Innkeepers, Mary and Jon have thought of everything. From the beautiful rooms to the homebaked cookies and the wonderful breakfast we will most certainly return for a longer stay. If you want to take in the beautiful sites in this part of Conn. you can't go wrong using The Inn at Lower Farm as your home base. It doesn't get much better then this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Lovely property. Mary and John are wonderful hosts. Mary's an amazing cook -- where else can you get pumpkin pancakes? Beautiful room, comfortable bed. Everything you can ask for in an inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The house is every bit of an old country farmhouse, which gives it charm. The rooms are large and comfortable. The grounds are expansive with excellent places to sit and talk. This is, indeed, a lovely spot away from the busy towns nearby, but close enough for easy touring and meals. The owners were away, but there guest host was very pleasant and compatible, and cooked a wonderful, large breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 119 Mystic Rd, Mystic, North Stonington, CT 06359
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1740 Connecticut farmhouse centrally located in the heart of "Mystic Country," close to all the area attractions including: Historis Mystic, the quaint Village of Stonington, the Westerly, RI beaches and the worlds two largest casinos, Foxwoods and the Mohegan Sun. A bed and breakfast that blends the charm of yesterday with the comforts of today. Featuring four well appointed quest rooms with private en-suite baths. A full breakfast served by candlelight. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.