We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works in a Pinch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Inn & Suites

Hilltop Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilltop Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Hilltop Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Works in a Pinch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Usually, we stay in Mystic to break up the drive from Cape Cod to NJ. But last minute, Saturday night, summertime, Mystic was fully booked. I saw the Hilltop had availability on a travel website. So I booked directly on Hilltop's website. There were mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, but I chanced it. First the good then the bad. The bathrooms were absolutely clean. The reviews stated "it was dated" but I could handle dated if the bathroom was spotless. It was and it turns out I didn't have to deal with "dated". The room seemed up-to-date and the parking lot had been recently re-asphalted. The coffee in the room is MUCH better than at breakfast. I like strong coffee, so I use both filter packs, the regular and decaf for one pot of coffee. I guess so many people have complained about the coffee at breakfast, that you can buy $1 Keurig coupons at the front desk. The breakfast was adequate for a gluten-free eater like me. I ate yogurt and hard-boiled eggs.

Now the bad.....a previous reviewer stated the toilet paper was like sandpaper. That reviewer was not kidding! We had two queen beds, when my husband turned down his bed, it had looked like it had been slept in and the sheets weren't changed. The bottom fitted sheet was clearly rumpled with the indentations of the mattress (you couldn't bounce a quarter off it if you tried, it would probably get stuck in one of the indentations), and normally a fitted sheet goes all the way down to the bottom of the mattress, but this only went halfway......my bed was fine. With the room being non-smoking, people smoke in front of the room, the only problem was that the air conditioning swept in the air and made our room smell like smoke.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    61
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
14
65
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Made a last minute reservation (a tad expensive) to go to the beaches in Rhode Island. Some of the poor reviews scared me but I was pleasant surprised. The room was big, clean and met expectations for a decent room in a non major chain motel. The included continental breakfast is perfect for my kids and the free wifi is a nice extra. We didn't use the shuttle to the casinos but it seems like a great perk to staying here if the casinos are your thing. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again without worry under the same circumstances.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We booked a last minute saturday overnight. No issue with the price because we wanted to go to Foxwoods and get a comped room but they were booked up. I was happy they had a room available. Check in was fine. The staff was very welcoming and wished us good luck at the casino. We didn't use the shuttle because we don't drink. We arrived back at our room around 3am and all the drunk people were already asleep so we had a great night's sleep. The room was very clean. The bathroom was immaculate! We had a handful of issues with the room that made the stay less then enjoyable so contacted them via email and was called right away. I spoke with Jay who was amazing and very helpful. Normally I would consider not going back but the friendly front desk and Jay's customer service ensured we will consider them again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

because the a/c sounds like a freight train! At least ours did, and so did every one I passed by! Other than that, the musty smell in the room and the crummy water pressure in the shower, the place is ok. Not great, but adequate.
The bed was very comfortable, but the bedspread was nasty. (as most hotels are)
The room was pretty clean overall. Nice TV and good channel lineup. The staff is friendly and breakfast is decent. They could use more fresh things. There was only a handful of 'fresh' apples and they were real far from fresh. Old mealy and bruised. The location is good to Foxwoods, and they do offer limited shuttle times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

First time staying here. It was nice and clean. The rooms were older, but comfortable. Breakfast was fine, however we would have preferred brewed coffee instead of instant. Staff was very friendly. We would stay again for a quick visit

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Originally was planning on staying at Foxwoods overnight as I was attending a concert but found a room here for a little over $100 bucks cheaper so I opted to stay here instead. No options for dinner on site but there are food locations along the road that could work. Friendly front desk staff who were informative and helpful. Shuttle service to Foxwoods was superb and timely which lended a hand for transportation to the concert and from the concert. I could have a drink or two and not worry about driving back to the property. Double room was sufficient, cable tv, free amenities in the room, and comfortable beds. Breakfast in the morning is available mostly cereals, bagels, donuts, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, apples, juice, coffee, or tea. You can make your own waffle using the waffle irons in the lobby if interested. Charges $1 per night for use of the electronic safe but outside of taxes and room fees that is the only additional charge I encountered. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I try to get up to the Mystic, Stonington and Rhode Island area a couple times a year. We find the Hilltop to be in a great location as it is approximately 4 - 8 miles from the areas we most frequent. We make our reservations on line and upon arriving are greeted with a friendly smile. They offer a free shuttle to Foxwoods and have a morning continental breakfast (hot waffles). The room is clean and the amenities are fine. We feel this is a nice place to stay at a fair price and plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is two floors with no elevator and we always ask for a room on the 1st floor. The hotel h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.