We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.. But needs to listen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Inn & Suites

Hilltop Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilltop Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Hilltop Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516   |  
Hotel amenities
Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great.. But needs to listen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a clean hotel. Needs some more work like mini refrigerators and microwaves in the room. It's very nice and I have stayed here once before but I made a comment about how they should use hypoallergenic detergent on the blankets, sheets and towels. No one seems to get the message and I'm sick of getting an allergic reaction so I probably won't be coming again. If you have allergey's like me.. go somewhere else.


The shuttle driver is very nice and on time when she picks you up from Foxwoods. Some of the other staff is nice but most can be kinda rude,

Room Tip: The suite is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    26
    15
    17
See reviews for
14
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Foxwoods says they are always booked. They are saving rooms for players with points. so you have to go to the bellisimo or the Hilltop.
They are over priced, and the rooms are very underwhelming. The shuttle is nice and the continental breakfast is just fair.
If you have the money I paid like $350. and no place to go. Don't expect much. Lots of loud party goers in the middle of the night

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My mother and I decided to take a weekend vacation to westerly, Rhode Island. We booked a motel near by the beaches (The Sand Dollar Inn). When we got to the motel it was so gross!! The smell alone was enough but that was nothing until we saw all the little bugs crawling around. The owners were the most terrible people, blaming us for bringing in bugs!! lol We packed up right away around 10 pm at night and left to go look for a better hotel. After driving around for over an hour we stumbled upon the hilltop inn and suites. Luckily they had rooms available. We went into the room and it was so clean. The room had two large comfortable queen beds, flat screen tv, a safe, and a large table. I slept so good that night! In the morning I went down to the lobby and they had tables and free breakfast which was nice. They served coffee, tea, juices, bagels, eggs, waffles, bacon, and muffins. I am so glad I stayed there, I will defiantly be going back this summer. And best of all it is only a short 15 mins to the westerly beaches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC / London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a show at Foxwoods. First impressions were it was a lot more modern that expected and immaculately clean. The staff were friendly and caring even down to the bus drivers. I found the beds were comfy and in general it has everything you need. This is a wonderful 'family run' feel hotel and definitely worth the money. There's a restaurant over the road and strip mall all within walking distance if you're staying longer.

Cons were very few but it I was being picky (only stayed for one night) I thought the coffee was awful tasting, the worst I've had from a hotel room setup (they do have some in reception) and I found the walls slightly thin too but not the worst.

Overall if you want to save a heap of $ and don't mind being around 10 minutes out don't hesitate with this place!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top level. I'd chose this so you don't hear people stomping around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here new years eve. The people at the front desk were all very kind. The shuttle service is excellent! The rooms were just average. The walls were very thin. They were very clean and well kept but they do not come with an iron, refrigerator, or microwave. They did however give us a complimentary bottle of champagne and glasses to ring in the new year which I thought was very cute! It's a good hotel to stay at if you are just there to sleep and will be spending most of your time elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again. The only suggestions I would have for the hotel management is maybe at least get some refrigerators in the rooms, and some vending machines (there were none but they did have a few snacks to buy at the front desk)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here recently and got two rooms for a trip to the casinos with friends and the rooms were Spotless!!! The beds were comfortable and the staff was very accomadating. I will definately stay here again. It was less than half of the cheapest room I could find at the casino and the complimentary shuttle runs every hour. The driver was very nice and it was only 8 minutes from door to door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for a Saturday night when visiting Mohegan Sun. It was a no thrills hotel, but perfect for crashing after a night of gambling. It was only about 15 minutes from Mohegan. If the price was right, I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.