We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to the pricey hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Inn & Suites

Hilltop Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hilltop Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Hilltop Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516   |  
Hotel amenities
NYC / London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the pricey hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a show at Foxwoods. First impressions were it was a lot more modern that expected and immaculately clean. The staff were friendly and caring even down to the bus drivers. I found the beds were comfy and in general it has everything you need. This is a wonderful 'family run' feel hotel and definitely worth the money. There's a restaurant over the road and strip mall all within walking distance if you're staying longer.

Cons were very few but it I was being picky (only stayed for one night) I thought the coffee was awful tasting, the worst I've had from a hotel room setup (they do have some in reception) and I found the walls slightly thin too but not the worst.

Overall if you want to save a heap of $ and don't mind being around 10 minutes out don't hesitate with this place!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top level. I'd chose this so you don't hear people stomping around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
14
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here new years eve. The people at the front desk were all very kind. The shuttle service is excellent! The rooms were just average. The walls were very thin. They were very clean and well kept but they do not come with an iron, refrigerator, or microwave. They did however give us a complimentary bottle of champagne and glasses to ring in the new year which I thought was very cute! It's a good hotel to stay at if you are just there to sleep and will be spending most of your time elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again. The only suggestions I would have for the hotel management is maybe at least get some refrigerators in the rooms, and some vending machines (there were none but they did have a few snacks to buy at the front desk)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here recently and got two rooms for a trip to the casinos with friends and the rooms were Spotless!!! The beds were comfortable and the staff was very accomadating. I will definately stay here again. It was less than half of the cheapest room I could find at the casino and the complimentary shuttle runs every hour. The driver was very nice and it was only 8 minutes from door to door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for a Saturday night when visiting Mohegan Sun. It was a no thrills hotel, but perfect for crashing after a night of gambling. It was only about 15 minutes from Mohegan. If the price was right, I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed here 5 years ago and will go back again. Building and grounds had gotten some use and abuse since our last stay but still a good place to stay. Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed and pillows. We didnt use shuttle because its so close to Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun casinos. Like them on Facebook for a discount. Free breakfast was so-so but how much do we need for free. Air conditioner noise in rooms is noticeable.

Room Tip: like on facebook we got a healthy discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopInnGM, General Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Welcome back. So glad to hear you were pleased with the staff and rooms. The next time you stay, please feel free to contact the Front Desk with any concerns you may have so that we can correct them as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed there for one night but would have stayed longer. Great location about 8 min down the street from Foxwoods. Belisomo is next door for about 50 bucks more but why pay that. Room was spotless, comfortable beds and a shuttle. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopInnGM, General Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many of our guests comment on the cleanliness of the rooms. We strive to offer great value with the free breakfast, free scheduled shuttle and free wi-fi all without a "facilities fee". We hope you return when you have more time to spend in the Mystic Coast & Country area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hilltop June 16, 2012 with friends. It was a great value and the continental breakfast was a big treat. It was great to take the shuttle to Foxwoods. The people who worked there was very nice and accommodating. The room was super clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopInnGM, General Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I will share your compliments on the staff and cleanliness of the rooms with the entire team. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Many of our guests are surprised at the wide variety of items offered for a continental breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.