We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick get away with the wife on a buget.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Inn & Suites

Hilltop Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hilltop Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Hilltop Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516   |  
Hotel amenities
Danbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quick get away with the wife on a buget.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed there for one night but would have stayed longer. Great location about 8 min down the street from Foxwoods. Belisomo is next door for about 50 bucks more but why pay that. Room was spotless, comfortable beds and a shuttle. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopInnGM, General Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many of our guests comment on the cleanliness of the rooms. We strive to offer great value with the free breakfast, free scheduled shuttle and free wi-fi all without a "facilities fee". We hope you return when you have more time to spend in the Mystic Coast & Country area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
14
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hilltop June 16, 2012 with friends. It was a great value and the continental breakfast was a big treat. It was great to take the shuttle to Foxwoods. The people who worked there was very nice and accommodating. The room was super clean. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopInnGM, General Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I will share your compliments on the staff and cleanliness of the rooms with the entire team. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Many of our guests are surprised at the wide variety of items offered for a continental breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at the Hilltop Inn with a few friends last weekend. The staff was very friendly when we arrived and answered all of our questions. The hotel has a shuttle that runs to Foxwoods late into the night (casino is about 5 minutes away). I agree with some of the other reviews about the rooms, everything is dated and old. The room was clean, but felt like a 1990 Motel. The next morning we checked-out and planned on eating breakfast at the hotel, which was included. There were a few bagels, pastries and cereal laid out.. we skipped it and hit up Dunkin.

I wasnt expecting much when I arrived, so the hotel worked out. If you are going to be at the casino for the whole night and need a place to crash, this place is fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilltopInnGM, Manager at Hilltop Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We strive to provide great guest service. I regret that you found the rooms dated. We have replaced all carpets, mattresses and bedspreads within the past two years and replace all of the other bedding on a regular basis; however, your concerns are appreciated.

As for breakfast we offer make-your-own waffles, cereal, bagels, English muffins, pastry, yogurt, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee. All of these items are complimentary to our guests during scheduled hours. Based on your comments, we certainly welcome suggestions for other items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is an older style hotel. It has had some updating. The rooms are very clean and of a decent size.It is very close to Foxwoods and offers free shuttle service. They offer a very nice free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Had a nice time at the Hilltop Great value for the money. Much cheaper then staying at foxwoods. I choose this hotel because other rieviwes stated that they had free wi fi / internet but that was not true :( Other wise we would have stayed at the hotel up the street. Ok breakfast everything was average nothing to complain about all in all a nice stay

Room Tip: we got the a suit but it wasn't that great of a suit just got a big bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Few buds and I wanted to hit up Foxwoods on a Friday night, saw the rooms at the casino were >$300 and said nuts to that. After looking around saw that Hilltop had rooms available for $99 with a free shuttle to/from the casino leaving every hour until 2:45am. Sweet. Room also includes a pretty decent breakfast (hot waffles, fruit, bagels, pastries) and they have fresh baked cookies at night.

The room itself was pretty much what we expected and had asked for; 2 queens in a non-smoking room. Room and sheets were clean, as was the bathroom. Bathroom also had an infrared heatlight which was a nice touch. Heater in the room kept it nice and toasty, if not a little too warm (had to turn it off before we went to bed).

At any rate, I'd definitely stay here again. The hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Typically when we go to Foxwoods, we stay on-site at the Casino. I decided to do a little price comparison with local hotels, and found that the Hilltop Inn and Suites was charging less for a King room with Jacuzzi than the suite I normally get at Foxwoods. I decided to give it a go!

Upon arriving, I thought "Oh no, what did I do?" I don't appreciate the typical motel style of walking out of your room and in to a parking lot (Especially in the cold weather!). Upon entering the lobby, however, my worries disappeared.

My husband and I were greeted by two incredibly friendly staff, and we quickly found our way to our room. Although it was smaller than I had hoped, it was sufficient. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable, and the jacuzzi was nice, too! There was also a shuttle available to and from Foxwoods, if needed.

Prior to check out the next morning, we headed down for some continental breakfast, and I was pleasantly surprised again - hard boiled eggs, a variety of cereal and breads (bagels, english muffins, etc.,), waffle-maker, etc., All fresh and well-maintained with a nice, small dining area to sit and eat in.

I would definitely stay again, and I highly recommend the Jacuzzi rooms!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn & Suites

Address: 373 Norwich Westerly Rd., Route 2, North Stonington, CT 06359-1516
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Inn and Suites North Stonington, CT is conveniently located just four miles from Foxwoods Resort and Casino, the world's largest casino and just a short drive to Mohegan Sun. We offer comfortable rooms as well as King Jacuzzi Suites which include 32" flat screen TV's with DIRECTV and free expanded HBO and sports channels. In-room safe is offered at a moderate fee and Wi-Fi is free. Deluxe continental breakfast and scheduled shuttle to Grand Pequot Tower at Foxwoods is included at no additional charge for registered guests. We are also within minutes of Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, the beautiful beaches of Rhode Island, several vineyards and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilltop Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Inn And Suites
Hilltop Hotel North Stonington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.