We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stardust to your Saves list
Stardust
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   544 Providence New London Tpk, North Stonington, CT 06359   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was a perfect place to stay for my family to do some local sight seeing. They are very friendly and have a wonderful little dog named Gizmo (who my toddler adored). The room was large and clean. It had a mini fridge and microwave, just wish it had a coffee maker too (they do have coffee at the office though so that worked out nicely). Location was perfect and so was the price. It has a large grassy area out front with a picnic table which would be perfect for playing and blowing off steam during the warm weather. We will stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
34
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bori79
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for an overnight Foxwoods trip. Having paid triple the price to stay at the foxwoods hotels, I was a bit nervous to them, but decided to give it a try and so happy I did! This will be my new go to place for my Foxwoods trips. Right off the highway location, minutes from the casino. Very comfortable with microwave and mini fridge in the room and can't say enough about the cleanliness! I don't need luxury (and if you do this is not the place for you) but if you're looking for a comfortable, clean, affordable place, this is it! Only suggestion to the management would be to turn on the heat maybe about a half hour before check in times so that the room doesn't feel like a freezer when you first walk in! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

If going to Foxwoods from the Boston Providence area the Stardust is a great find just off 95. It is an older motel with new ownership that obviously takes pride in their product. Rooms have been renovated and include a microwave and mini fridge. A good find for the cost conscious. 

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When New Years Eve rates near the casinos go through the roof, you have to do a little searching to find an acceptable place to sleep within driving distance to Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun.
The Stardust Motel fit the bill for us this year.
Located one exit above Foxwoods, the Stardust provided a clean, basic room with champange and party favors in the room for New Years. The front office has free coffee, juice, fruit and the like available in the morning. The owners, (and their dog) are friendly and helpful. Only a nasty fall in the frozen parking lot dampened our enthusiasm a bit.
The next time we are looking for a bargain room in the Stonington area, we will definately check back to the Stardust.

Room Tip: Second floor for a little more quiet, but a tough climb on icy stairs in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for New Year's Eve and we paid just $72 for booking early... I was told it was a mistake on the Internet and they honored the price.

We walked into the room to see few cardboard boxes stacked up and were told this is where the front desk person slept.

For a few hours of sleep I thought the price was great and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. I would recommend a fan in the room as there is no air circulation. They had 2 portable heaters in the rooms as well ( didn't understand why).

Another thing was their uphill drive way had frozen ice..my brand new Honda Accord barely made it up. This was the only unpleasant experience I had at this motel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A very basic small hotel about 45 minutes south of Providence RI.
The rooms are clean, access is one minute off I-95 and coffee is
ready for an early departure. The only complaint was that the TV
service included only one station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stardustmotel, Manager at Stardust, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We would like this customer to know along with all of our customers, that we have satellite TV in all of our rooms. If for some reason you are unable to access all of the channels, all you need to do to is ask at the front desk for some assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Stardust on our recent trip to Conneticut. We used the Stardust as our home base while we visited Mystic, Newport and Block Island over a couple of days. The location is convenient to local attractions and is affordable, it is easy to get places since it is right next to the highway. Every morning there was a nice breakfast variety, hot coffee and a hot shower. Friendly staff, clean & upkept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stonington
5.0 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in North Stonington
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
Cedar Park Inn And Suites
#4 of 5 in North Stonington
3.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#4 of 5 in Misquamicut
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#3 of 5 in Misquamicut
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust

Address: 544 Providence New London Tpk, North Stonington, CT 06359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stardust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.