We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for a nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust

Save Saved
You added Stardust to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stardust
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   544 Providence New London Tpk, North Stonington, CT 06359   |  
Hotel amenities
new jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for New Year's Eve and we paid just $72 for booking early... I was told it was a mistake on the Internet and they honored the price.

We walked into the room to see few cardboard boxes stacked up and were told this is where the front desk person slept.

For a few hours of sleep I thought the price was great and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. I would recommend a fan in the room as there is no air circulation. They had 2 portable heaters in the rooms as well ( didn't understand why).

Another thing was their uphill drive way had frozen ice..my brand new Honda Accord barely made it up. This was the only unpleasant experience I had at this motel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mesa az
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A very basic small hotel about 45 minutes south of Providence RI.
The rooms are clean, access is one minute off I-95 and coffee is
ready for an early departure. The only complaint was that the TV
service included only one station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stardustmotel, Manager at Stardust, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We would like this customer to know along with all of our customers, that we have satellite TV in all of our rooms. If for some reason you are unable to access all of the channels, all you need to do to is ask at the front desk for some assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Stardust on our recent trip to Conneticut. We used the Stardust as our home base while we visited Mystic, Newport and Block Island over a couple of days. The location is convenient to local attractions and is affordable, it is easy to get places since it is right next to the highway. Every morning there was a nice breakfast variety, hot coffee and a hot shower. Friendly staff, clean & upkept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a basic, but very clean hotel. The managers were friendly, warm and hospitable. I certainly would recommend this to the cost conscience. Clean is the key word. Although right off of the highway, you couldn't hear anything, which resulted in a well needed sleep. Located just 15 minutes away from Foxwoods.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I arrived on Sunday and left Friday morning during the last week in August, needing to be alone for some rest and relaxation. Everyday, I picked a place to visit. It was beautiful weather all week, I went to Block Island, Charlestown Beaches, Westerly, Foxwoods, Wine tasting and the Jonathan Edwards Winery, and went birdwatching with binoculars in tow to 2 sanctuarys and reserves. I had a GREAT time by myself! THE BEST part was having a friendly safe and sound place to hang my hat at night. Jodie and Lynn were wonderfully warm and accomodating, truly nice people and my room was clean and comfortable. And their dog Gizmo is so cute. I loved this little getaway and I am sure I will visit and stay here again.

Room Tip: great 7am coffee and bananas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Top, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice place to stay - very clean room and a spotless bathroom. Rooms were ready on arrival. Located close to main road but quiet,therefore easy access to main tourist attractions - friendly staff and owners and friendly,well behaved dog! Would stay again when in that area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked the Stardust after reading other positive reviews and needed just one night after a family celebration. Our room was large and clean with a nice spotless bathroom. Small TV, microwave and fridge in room, no hairdryer. The staff were friendly (including the dog) and it was easy on and off route 95. Although close to the highway we did not hear the traffic noise in the room. Keurig Coffee with the weekend continental breakfast was a perk. Sitting outside our second floor room in the early morning, I was nostalgic for the days before there was so much traffic on 95, when the view toward Rhode Island could be more serenely enjoyed. A good value for the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stardust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust

Address: 544 Providence New London Tpk, North Stonington, CT 06359
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Stardust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.