We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely come again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust

Save Saved
You added Stardust to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stardust
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   544 Providence New London Tpk, North Stonington, CT 06359   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Will definitely come again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I arrived on Sunday and left Friday morning during the last week in August, needing to be alone for some rest and relaxation. Everyday, I picked a place to visit. It was beautiful weather all week, I went to Block Island, Charlestown Beaches, Westerly, Foxwoods, Wine tasting and the Jonathan Edwards Winery, and went birdwatching with binoculars in tow to 2 sanctuarys and reserves. I had a GREAT time by myself! THE BEST part was having a friendly safe and sound place to hang my hat at night. Jodie and Lynn were wonderfully warm and accomodating, truly nice people and my room was clean and comfortable. And their dog Gizmo is so cute. I loved this little getaway and I am sure I will visit and stay here again.

Room Tip: great 7am coffee and bananas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Top, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice place to stay - very clean room and a spotless bathroom. Rooms were ready on arrival. Located close to main road but quiet,therefore easy access to main tourist attractions - friendly staff and owners and friendly,well behaved dog! Would stay again when in that area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked the Stardust after reading other positive reviews and needed just one night after a family celebration. Our room was large and clean with a nice spotless bathroom. Small TV, microwave and fridge in room, no hairdryer. The staff were friendly (including the dog) and it was easy on and off route 95. Although close to the highway we did not hear the traffic noise in the room. Keurig Coffee with the weekend continental breakfast was a perk. Sitting outside our second floor room in the early morning, I was nostalgic for the days before there was so much traffic on 95, when the view toward Rhode Island could be more serenely enjoyed. A good value for the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Stardust is close to the highway, but in the middle of nowhere. I believe it is being refurbished, but still has an old and worn appearance. The price may be right for the area, but you get what you pay for. There was a musty smell upon entering the room, and the furniture was worn. Although things appeared clean, the armchair was stained and had a hole. The office chair, footrest, and nightstand also had ground in stains. A wall in front of the toilet for the shower made it difficult to use. A screen window in the bathroom was dirty. Management was very friendly until I expressed my concerns , and of course they disagreed with me. They offered another room but I declined and went elsewhere. They are refusing to grant any refund.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stardustmotel, Manager at Stardust, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your room. We do not profess to be a 4 or 5 star motel and if you were expecting that then of course you would have been disappointed.
Since we are an older motel we do the best we can to make our guests happy with what we have, and that means to have the cleanest room as possible at a reasonable rate.
As we are in the process of upgrading our rooms, the chair and an ottoman have been removed. Whereas the wall in the bathroom may cause a problem for some people it does offer some privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I just got home from a last minute getaway to Mystic CT. The Stardust was at a great price and location. I had trouble booking it online but when I called directly I spoke to Jodie one of the owners who was so nice and made booking a breeze! Our room was so clean and it was in the middle of all the attractions. Their dog Gizmo is so sweet and made our stay feel like home. He sat outside with us in the morning when we had our coffee. We loved Mystic and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our second stay at the Startdust and again we were not disappointed. In fact this stay was better than the last. We booked our room as a last minute getaway for the 4th of July weekend. As with all hotels close to the beach it was more expensive than off season but it was at least $40-50 cheaper than most accommodations in area. The room was again spotless, large, recently updated, and had a very comfy bed. It was too bad we brought breakfast because there was also simple yet pleasant breakfast snacks of yogurt, fruit, granola bars and coffee. We will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We wished to stay in Mystic but, as it was weekend, the area was fully booked and the prices had risen by 50%. By default, we ended up at Stardust. It was clean and the owner was very accommodating but, apart from the fact that it was 'love me love my dog',which we don't, the motel is miles from anywhere. The nearest eatery, apart from MacDonald's, was a diner some two and a half miles away. The bedding was OK but the bed left a lot to be desired. We understand that the manager is attempting a long term refurbishment of the premises so it needs to be a long term before visiting unless desparate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Stardust, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay here. Unfortunately we can not please everyone, but we do our best. Yes, we are miles from "anywhere" but at the same time we are centrally located to numerous travel destinations such as Foxwood Casino, Mystic Seaport and the Rhode Island beaches. And for that reason we have quite a few guests who return on a regular basis.
We do wish that everyone would enjoy our dog Gizmo as he is part of our family and is very well behaved, but we realize that not everyone is a dog lover. We try to ask everyone when they are checking in if they like dogs or not, and if they don't we try to keep him away from them. We apologize if we did not do that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stardust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust

Address: 544 Providence New London Tpk, North Stonington, CT 06359
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > North Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stardust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.