We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS FOOD & TERRIFIC SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Street Cafe

State Street Cafe
346 State St, North Haven, CT 06473-3100
203-288-1425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in North Haven
Restaurant details
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FOOD & TERRIFIC SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I recently had breakfast at State Street Café.. and it was delicious!! the eggs I ordered were cooked perfectly, exactly the way I wanted them, thanks to the waitress' suggestion! the portions are large, but it was sooooo good, I ate the whole thing!! It is true that they are very busy and it could be somewhat noisy, but my cousin and I were able to sit, talk (NO PROBLEM)and enjoy a delicious breakfast!! YOU'VE GOT TO TRY IT!! I'll be going back to try the lunches and the milkshake!! This is my new favorite place!!! and , the coffee is excellent!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, IL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great food and outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were just passing through and came across this fabulous diner. We both ordered the chicken pita. Great flavor and even included fresh strawberries. The homemade bread pudding is to die for. Very reasonably priced. Immaculate restaurant and restrooms. Wish we lived in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We are regulars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We always have a nice breakfast at state street. They are always busy because it is that good. Big portion sizes and great omelets!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch always hits the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Soup choices are always changing. Great idea. Had a crispy chicken over salid. More then enough for two!! Waitress's are very nice. Place is very clean. Owner even came over to ask if everything was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH HAVEN,CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This used to be the old Henry's restaurant. The food was good there but Henry's was filthy. Now that this place is under new ownership, it has been completely redone and is clean and bright. The service is excellent by most servers. We like the breakfast very much and they do have a lunch menu which friends have tried and enjoyed. It is always busy but they try and seat you as soon as possible. As in most of the North Haven breakfast/lunch places, it gets very busy on the weekends especially so you may have to wait. Even during the weekdays State Street Cafe is busy. I always have the cream of wheat which sounds boring but they do something to it which makes it taste delicious! Not your a average breakfast place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to State Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.