We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would never go back or recommend to anyone” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Haven
Beverly
1 review
“I would never go back or recommend to anyone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We show up and right from the start it was awful. We get there before everyone else in our party and in order to get into the room we have to charge my credit card or not get into the room. We were told before that the credit card that we reserved the rooms with could just be charged. Instead they charge my credit card which i was told was just for hold and not be charged, but when my dad arrived they also charged his. We are given our keys and they don't work, so we have to go back to the front desk to get them to work. Our room smelt like a rabbit had stayed there before. It was digusting how bad the room smelt. The ceiling looked as if it was going to fall apart and the room looked like someone got in a fight in it. Thank god we only stayed a night!!!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, Hotel Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
We do again aplogize for the credit card hold that was placed on the card at checkin. This is our normal policy if the card that was made at the time of the reservation is not present. The room was deep cleaned and repaired for any issues that this guest had during the stay. Our hotel staff does appreciate any guest's view either negative or positive to help us improve in our guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    73
    30
    23
    18
See reviews for
77
31
25
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Another average Holiday Inn, No frills but room was clean and staff was very courteous, helpful and friendly

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiAce
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

I stayed at the Holiday Inn North Haven on business. To be fair, Holiday Inn is not my first choice for business travel, but New Haven is a bit scarce in upscale accommodations. Basically a suburban hotel, with adequate facilities. The front dest personnel were extremely helpful, especially considering that there was renovation underway in the hotel. I was assigned a room on the first floor, but the manager changed me immediately so I would not be disturbed by the pneumatic drilling to begin at 8 am. Also, I was informed, my original room was located "too close" to the railroad tracks which run behind the hotel. I got an upstairs room, and heard the train in the distance, but not the construction. The bar/restaurant next door is very convenient, and the food standard. It is, however, a bit of a local hangout - for better or worse. Overall adequate in a pinch.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

We are platinum priority members and when I mentioned my birthday we were upgraded to a beautiful suite. The staff was very friendly, hotel maintained very nicely and the room had a living room and bedroom with a microwave and fridge. It was really a treat to have had such great accomodations. We always stay along the way when we are going to Foxwoods Casino.

  • Liked — My room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

My wife and I needed a place to stay for a night near home while a repair was being done at our house, so we picked this hotel. What a nice surprise. First, the staff, from desk people, to maids and maintenace people, to the restaurant staff, were all pleasant, effeicient and helpful (one maid went out her way to hold open a door for us). Second,, the place is kept immaculate and has terrific common areas, A beautiful central courtyard with gazebo, a patio off the large and clean indoor pool, and well maintained lobby. Third, the resaurant food was quite good. The rooms are standard and well-equipped. Carpets a bit old-fashioned, but that is only a minor comment. The only problem at all is that the kitchen was slow, although I gathered that that evening was busier than normal. But the food was the right temperature when it arrived, and, as mentioned, was well-prepared and tasty. For basically a highway hotel, it is a great stopping point and the pool makes it nice for families. There are several restaurants within a mile or so in each direction.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Booked my stay through a bid on Priceline for a total price below the listed low price.

The grounds are lovely and well maintained. My room was on the 2nd floor and had a peaceful view of a wooded lot. Clean room -- comfortable bed. Staff was "Connecticut courteous" -- don't expect the warmth of the midwest/south. The exercise room had several machines that were not functioning -- only one treadmill was in working condition -- but the room is available 24h/day. There is a small indoor pool.

Internet access is FREE (if you bring a laptop) through a DSL cable in each room. There are also computers with printers in the lobby and wireless access is available in the lobby.

The hotel restaurant/lounge was large and the food was above average for 2 star hotel dining. The servers were friendly.

No free continental breakfast, but there is free coffee in the lobby and free copies of USA Today are available for guests.

The location of the hotel is close to 91 and close to restaurants/shopping of North Haven.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet room. Nice view from window.
  • Disliked — No elevator! Older travellers/disabled must ask for 1st floor room!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

The front desk staff was a little bit of a put-off but once you get past that step, the property itself is gorgeous! Several outdoor sitting areas, one with a gazebo, indoor pool, exercise room. Houlihan's restaurant is on the property and there are also several other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Liked — Indoor and outdoor decor
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.