We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service at their Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in North Haven
North Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Wonderful Service at their Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My fiance and I decided to go the restaurant/bar which is attached to North Haven's Holiday Inn which is called Harry's. Upon entering my fiance were greeted by a very friendly waiter named Mike. He was very kind and helpful! We then decided to go to the bar where there were two bartenders named Liz and Brian. They were extremely sociable which made us feel very comfortable. The bar was also pretty busy but they definitely had everything under control so we didn't need to wait for our drinks at all. They really knew how to manage their time! Due to this great service we really had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    26
    22
    18
See reviews for
62
26
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

It's a Holiday Inn. No strongly positive or negative surprises. The room coffee is lousy, but the staff was very personable and efficient. Even the maids and maintenance folks smiled and said hello, which can be rare.

Weird location for the entrance road though, by the Arby's. We missd it on first approach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Harold M,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the service delivered by our staff. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I had a great experience here at the holiday inn. The service was great and the rooms were really clean.
The lounge was especially nice and the food was way better than I had expected. I recommend this hotel to all of my relatives when they stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are excited to read that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the staff. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to the restaurant in the holiday inn called Harry's sports grill. I had read some of the reviews before I decided to try it and it sounded like I would enjoy myself. Unfortunately, the night manager was very rude(this was a Friday night) but the server(Sue) was excellent!! She was very friendly and always had me laughing even though she was very busy!! The food was good especially the ribeye. Hopefully the next time I go I will have the same server and different manager on duty. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you visiting Harry's. I am sorry that you felt the supervisor on duty was rude. The expectation for us all is that we will welcome our guest and customers into our hotel and restaurant just as you would welcome family into your home. I am sorry that not all of our team exhibited this behavior during your visit. We will review your comments with the staff and ensure that this does not happen again. We hope that you will give us another try so that we can demonstrate our true nature of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stay here a lot and wrote a negative review the last time we stayed here. Since then they have given us better rooms away from the trains. This time we decided to try the breakfast. It was 13.99 a person and so disappointing. It was the same fare many hotels give for free. I was expecting a real home style breakfast. I can't believe they charge 13.99 for this. Don't waste your money. On the upside staff is warm and friendly. Room much improved. Just don't get the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appericate your loyalty. Please feel free to contact the general manager directly as we would welcome your feedback on what could be done to improve the value of the breakfast. We currently offer, eggs and eggs cooked to order, sausage, bacon, make your own belgium waffles, an assortment of baked goods and breads, yogurt and fresh cut fruit. Our price $13.99 also includes tax and gratuity for the server. We aim to please and would like to hear your detailed feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Again the entire staff at HINH goes out of their way for clients and guests. I must say I am catered to time and again well beyond any other hotel in the north east. The food is great, there is always a warm cup of coffee available and even a treat at the sign in- outstanding persistence staff- commendable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the very moment you step into the foyer, you feel as if you are a most welcomed guest and nothing will be a problem. The staff members are so welcoming and friendly and genuinely concerned about making your sojourn here most comfortable and enjoyable. When one then meets the general manager, you understand why the staff are so kindly gregarious, as such all too rare qualities, nowadays, are a reflection of said manager, not that you would readily glean he is in charge, given his unassuming disposition.
Your favourable impressions of the establishment are further enhanced by the very generous welcoming gatherings on a Monday and Tuesday evening, where guests are encouraged to meet and discourse, while ingesting a libation and enjoying some delectable delights in idyllic, warm surrounds. The soire was attended by the manager, who treats each and every person, as someone very special and about whom he cares - ever so thoughtful.
If alerted to a special occasion, management will go out of their way to make that special time, an even more important happening and unobtrusively join in the celebration, again making you feel special.
Whilst the hotel is a certain distance from downtown, the offer and provision of a shulltlt car, with amiable driver, quickly solves this one could be mitigating factor.
The front desk attendants are also a delight, with their accommodating manners and approaches full of warmth and caring.
Being Australian travellers of independent travel plans, we have been travelling all over the United States of America for ten weeks, zig zaging from Los Angeles by bus and train, and this hotel and staff provided us with our most memorably favourable experiences, maiking all efforts and energies expended worthwhile.

Room Tip: Like you as a guest, every room is special. The room becomes incidental to the warmth of the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.