We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Haven
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 times over the last couple months. The first 2 times were ok. But the last visit was not good. They put us in a smallish room directly next to the train tracks. If you enjoy hearing loud trains at night you would like it. The room also smelled terrible. Smoking , chemicals or a combination. Not sure. We have preferred status at Hilton's and this is what we got. We're in the area frequently but will look for a different spot. Disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your most recent visit to our hotel. We appericate your feedback and will do whatever we can to address the issues that you mentioned in your review. We appericate your business and hope that you will chose to stay with us again. We are confident that we can earn your loyalty back.

Sincerly

Jay Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    85
    36
    24
    18
See reviews for
89
37
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last weekend we stayed at the Holiday Inn on Washington Avenue in North Haven, Ct. The room was nice & clean and relatively roomy. However, I thought the price was really on the high side at $110 per night plus $16 in taxes. They sort of have a captured market with no other places to stay in the immediate area. Thus, they squeeze the customer for a lot more money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am sorry to hear that you felt we were over priced. When pricing our hotel we do consider other hotels in the area and try to associate the product and the service the guest will recieve to create value. We hope that all our guest will find value with their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went to the Holiday Inn with my Uncle for the night. We've been to four star hotels, but his hotel experience was BY FAR the best. DONNA AND CINDY from Harry's sports grill were absolutely incredible. You must go see them, they treat customers with such thoughtfulness and attentiveness. They made sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves at all times. They were so personal and kind and chatted with us for a while as well. We were also very impressed with the food, the omelette at the buffet was delicious...pool was so warm and wonderful, just an overall great, pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the positive review and the extremely nice comments about our staff! We appericate your recongizing the dedication of our employees to serve our guest. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audubon, new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here on 3/13 and had a enjoyable stay. Lobby, the room and pool very clean. Front desk very good. Has Sports bar restaurant and food was good. Lobby had comp hot soup and coffee which is great. Will stay here again. Easy on and off the interstate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We try to deliver not just the expected but the unexpected amenities as well. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best hotel I ever stayed at... Was greeted with open arms as if i was staying with famliy..Staff is very friendly... Jay the gm is wonderful he made sure my stay was wonderful.... I was picked for guest of day. What a wonderful surprise I had a cheese an fruit plate waiting in my room..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I booked this hotel as a stop off on my way to MA for the week. I got a late start and did not arrive at the hotel until 2am. The gentleman that checked me in was very friendly even at this early hour. They upgraded me to a king-suite room (wish i would have known this early!!). The room was clean and had a separate sitting and TV area. I didn't realize the card sitting on the desk until the following morning. The note was hand written and told me to look in the mini-fridge. Inside was a nice cheese and fresh fruit platter. Should have read the note when I got in!! Upon checkout I was asked how the platter was and when I told them I had got in late and didn't realize until this morning, they quickly put a note in the system for me to get an upgrade and platter the next time I stay. Great stay. Great staff. Wish I got in at a different hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the positive review and thank you for recongizing our night auditor! We aim to great every guest warmly no matter what time it is. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Was in New Haven, Ct., to visit the University with my daughter. The hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. As a Platinum member of Holiday Inn, we were greeted with a fruit and cheese platter in our room, which was a very impressive surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINHManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the positive review and thank you for being a loyal PLT member with the Priority Club. We appericate your business and hope that you had a great college visit! Hopefully we will see you for a few more years while your child is in school in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel

Address: 201 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473 (Formerly Holiday Inn North Haven)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, the Best Western Plus North Haven's location is ideal. Located between NYC and Boston with easy access on and off I-91 N/S. Our list of amenities now include an elevator as well as Harry's Sports Grill , business center and guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access , free Continental breakfast for the Priority Club Member only, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor deck, charming courtyard, valet service (M-F), guest laundry, fitness center, 24 hr fax, free parking, exceptional meeting and banquet facilities, and the most comfortable guest accommodations. Our central location is minutes from the arts and culture of Greater New Haven, Yale University & Quinnipiac University and the CT shoreline, Chevrolet Theater and Shubert Theater of Perfoming Arts, 30 minutes from Hartford, CT and 50 minutes to Mohegan Sun and MGM Foxwoods Casinos. We also have a great location to various corporations such as Honeywell, Parker Hannefin, Mossberg, Covidien and HB Communications . If you are traveling for sports or leisure, we are located within minutes of Northford Ice Pavilion, CT Sports Plex and New Haven Field House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Haven Hotel North Haven
North Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.