We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prefection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Oak - CLOSED

Rustic Oak
165 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473-1710
203-239-1107
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham,CT
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“prefection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have been coming here for over 20years,the food is outstanding, salad bar is always fresh, soup right on and outstanding service. On a cold winter night a wonderful fireplace will warm your soul. Well worth the travel.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I wanted a good fillet for dinner so I took my family and I was not disappointed. Oh my gosh, one of the best meals I have had in a long time. Salad bar was well stocked and fresh and desserts were phenomenal and plentiful. A fantastic dinner! I'll do it again soon. It was a busy Saturday night after Hurricane Sandy and we didn't have reservations, but we were at our table in 15 minutes. Make reservations.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halberstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Somehow mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The steak was good at the end and the staff was very nicely, the lace was loud, loud, loud and felt like central station! The praised salad bar was everything but great in my eyes, there was nothing special as opposed to the previous review and what struck my most was the high pricing for the steaks. OK, it was Angus Beef, but I didnt taste the difference. The steak was medium well, instead of meium rare. Wouldnt go there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, ct
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“The Best restaurant in CT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The best restaurant in CT in my opinion. Amazind salad bar, fair prices and great entrees. One reason I will come back is at the heart of the recession they dipped their prices because of it! I felt bad as the food as worth way more at that time! Totally great!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The only reason we went here was because it is basically a landmark in North Haven and we had never been there. The MASSIVE fireplace was going and was a very nice touch, but the rest of the place feels very dark and outdated, but that might be what they are going for, as most of the customers were 60+.

The salad bar was basic, but I have no complaints about the food or service, both were great

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic Oak also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.