We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teds' Restaurant-World Famous Hamburgers - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Teds' Restaurant-World Famous Hamburgers
334 Washington Ave, North Haven, CT 06473
203-234-8337
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

A must for quick, tasty and great service. Clean and good value for the price. Two young employees very friendly ang eager to discuss steamed burger history.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't let the location steer you away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I must say Ted's burgers are a hidden gem. They are mouthwatering meat and gooey cheese both steamed which make a pretty remarkable burger! I will say that the location/interior really could use a renovation. But, as I've said, that doesn't take away from the amazing burger they make!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Burgers, a new Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Try a steamed cheese burger with onions and a side order of home fries. Wow, that was great, can I have another? This area has a few places to get this fantastic burger but Ted's has been around a long time & has a great Rep..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Glad I gave it another chance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Teds World Famous Steamed Burgers. -334 Washington Ave,North Haven Ct.
This is a franchise and not the original location in Meriden Ct..

I am a burger devotee. Every time I visit a new area one the first things I do is check out the local burgers. I love burgers cooked every way possible, grilled, charcoal broiled, wood charred, baked, and broiled. I am also a Ct. Native so I was always familiar with Ted’s of Meriden but it was never a favorite of mine. I had been disappointed by their preparation a few times in the past. A franchise of Ted’s recently opened in North Haven Ct. It is located in a small strip center on Rt. 5 so it is unlike the miniscule original building and lacks its’ unique charm. It offers plenty of parking and an abundance of seating. It also serves a great burger. Steamed burgers have never been my favorite but these were very good. Although prepared the same way as the original, steamed, it was just better. The fresh meat was juicy, tender and exploded with flavor. Like the originator they offer a multitude of toppings to satisfy your cravings. The cheeseburger is insane and oozes cheese all over the place when eating. Unlike its’ originator this Teds’ also offers French fries as well as home fries. If you like burgers this should definitely be added to your list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teds' Restaurant-World Famous Hamburgers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teds' Restaurant-World Famous Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.