We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the middle of Connecticut” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Meriden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Inn Express Meriden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2104 N BROAD STREET, North Haven, CT 06473   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in North Haven
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the middle of Connecticut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We came by rental car from JFK to visit family and ended up staying twice for three days each (three adults, three kids the first stay in two rooms, two adults and three kids on the second stay in one room). The hotel is on route 15 south in the section where there are driveways on and off the highway. The hotel has its own driveway on and off the road. The sign for the Quality Inn next door to the south is easier to spot as one zooms down the highway and clears some trees just before the driveway. Be careful! A bigger more prominent sign that gives a bit more warning for first arrivals would be nice but may or may not be possible. Leaving, one needs to accelerate quickly if there is any traffic, however, the stop light up the street creates reasonable sized gaps in traffic, especially if one needs to make a U turn to go north. There is plenty of parking.

The lobby is spacious. Evenings, there is just one clerk who is polite and very helpful. Check-in and check-out were painless. During the day there are more people around to help, all of whom were polite and eager to help. There are package cookies in the afternoon and USA Today daily.

Our rooms for the trip were 307, 309 the first stay with two queen beds each, 207 (identical to the first 2 rooms) then 217 (2 queen beds in a suite with pullout couch) after an upgrade the second stay. All the rooms were large with plenty of room for a roll-away bed. The suite was absolutely enormous. All rooms were clean and neat on check in. Carpet was business style but reasonable to walk on with bare feet. The first three rooms had two queen beds, a small round table with two chairs, a wing back chair, a TV/dresser stand for large flat screen TV with remote control. All of the rooms had north facing windows that let in a great deal of light. AC worked well. There were no refrigerators in the regular rooms. The suite, 217, had a refrigerator and microwave. All rooms had coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. There were no safes. Free internet access codes that expire were handed out on check-in without any need to inquire. Connections were unencrypted but fast and allowed use of a VPN without difficulty. We heard no noises from adjoining rooms but muffled door opening and closing sounds could be heard from the hallway. There was a large group, possibly a family reunion, that was noisy one night out in the parking lot. The noise suddenly disappeared, we think because the staff asked for a little less noise and the group was well-behaved.

The bathroom was average sized stocked with good quality towels for three. We had to ask for extra towels each day for our party of 4 in one of the rooms but these were cheerfully brought to us. There was a tub/shower with curtain. The shower head had three settings that each worked as designed. Lighting was fine, but the fan was one of the loudest that we have had in a bath in many hotel stays.

There is no restaurant, but they offer breakfast daily. Breakfast was make it yourself pancakes (machine was out for service 2 of the 3 days on the second stay), scrambled eggs or two-egg cheese omelets (probably from a package), sausage or bacon and biscuits and gravy. There were already peeled hard-boiled eggs in the refrigerator. There was a good selection of yogurts, oatmeal, muffins and pastries, cereals (kids can ask for fruit loops), bread for the toaster, three choices of juice, ice water, coffee and tea. Milk was available in cartons in the refrigerator and thermoses by the coffee. The breakfast area had 9 tables for 4 each, a couch and two soft chairs with one large TV on the wall. We happened to be able to watch the Olympics and the Today show each morning. The single attendant keeps the food well stocked and the area neat and clean.

There is a fitness center with small kidney shaped pool (security camera but no lifeguard) and adjacent exercise equipment room that contains two treadmills, a stationary bike and a wall mounted flat screen TV. The remote control that we used on the first stay disappeared for the second stay. There is a coin operated washer and dryer on the second floor with a soap vending machine.

We had trouble with housekeeping on the second day of the second stay. We came back to the room around 4 PM to find the room unmade and no towels. The maid told us that she left towels but didn't make the beds because of clothes on them. When questioned she apparently said that she made one bed but left the others because of clothes on them and left fresh towels. There was no evidence of bed making or of fresh towels, and no clothing was left on the beds. Both the housekeeping supervisor and the manager came to see the room and apologized profusely and sincerely. We actually had called just because we wanted towels, but they seemed offended that we did not get the service they expected us to get. The supervisor went to the trouble of making up the room himself. The manager felt quite badly about the episode and offered an upgrade to a suite which was generous and unexpected.

Despite the trouble, which we judged was an unusual event, we plan to stay here again in the future because the hotel is well situated, reasonably priced, clean and comfortable, has free reliable internet, and the management is extremely responsive. We didn't give it 5 dots because of the driveway that requires extra care driving in and out, the loud bathroom fan, the very good but not outstanding linens and lack of a desk in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eatontown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Room was not that comfortable

Walls are like paper; woke up at midnight because the room next door decided to talk, shower, and maybe do what they could have without me hearing if walls were not paper thin

Restaurant was just OK; expensive and not worth the money for what you have to pay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Meriden, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Eric G,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered over the quality and service of our hotel. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice hotel, perfectly clean, and the staff was very helpful. The bed was very firm and the breakfast was not great, but it's free! They had a pancake machine, which was neat, but no fruit - I'm used to seeing some bananas or cantaloupe. Overall it was a great price for our room.

Room Tip: I reserved a king suite because I wanted a separate sitting space for our one year old daughter to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel is definitely a newer property. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Not alot of noise either. We were on the third floor so we didn't get alot of noise. We upgraded to a king suite and had more than enough room. The room also came with a microwave, minifridge and sink. The hotel staff was very friendly and everyone greeted you with a smile (even the housekeeping staff!). Free breakfast in the morning with alot of choices. Hot food and an awesome pancake machine. Most importantly - free wireless! The hotel is a little ride to the restaurants but once you get there; there is plenty to choose from. Also, close to the train station in downtown Meriden.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Newer facility with the upgrades. The service is solid and the room is roomy and comfortable. Would reccomend if you are staying in the part of CT.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed in a king suite on the second floor. The bed was clean and comfortable, had a very spacious living room type area, actually the whole room was very spacious. It had a microwave, mini fridge, extra sink, counter space/cabinet space. The veiw wasn't so hot, it was the back of the Quality Inn haha. Bathroom was very clean too. The staff was very friendly and the best part (for me) was the breakfast! Seriously. They had fresh bacon, eggs (well cooked eggs!), biscuts with the country gravy stuff, juice, pastries, bagels, toast, ceral, fruit, a pancake maker!!..... it was so much and so good! There was coffee, but not so good. We had to make a dunkies run that morning. The pool was small, but clean.
There were a few cons, but they pros definitely outweighed them by far..... The fan in the bathroom was loud, and connected to the light switch, so you couldn't turn it off. I couldn't hear myself think. The a/c in the room was great, but a little loud throughout the night. And I don't know if the people above us were just really elephants in disguise, or if the ceilings are paper thin, but they were clomping around all night. I would suggest getting a 3rd floor (top floor) room. They were up til like midnight! Annoying!

All in all though, we were comfortable and will definitely be back! Oh and if you visit in the spring/summer, I recommended going to visit the Lyman Orchards Farm, about 15mins away. The most fun we had the whole trip!

Room Tip: Call the hotel itself for the best rate, we ran into pricing issues trying to book online. And the 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

At first glance, everything looks good. I was checked in by smiley, friendly associate, given the keys to a room that was not finished being cleaned. Traded those keys in for another room, 3rd floor, overlooking a housing development. At first glance, very impressively LARGE room, clean...couch, nice flat screen TV. I put the air on and the cover control panel came off in my hands, it was not attached on properly. The air cooled down the room but never as cool as I woud have liked it and the A/C unit itself was very, very loud when it came on intermittently all night long. Speaking of night, the pillows were horrible and I have stayed a many hotels with great pillows so I am sick f the bad pillow excuses I have heard.

The clock radio alarm blasted me awake much earlier then I wanted to be blasted awake.
They shoud set the alarms in the off position so I didn't have to wake up to the schedule of
the last person who slept in that room. On last thing, the toliet paper holder was not
properly attached to the wall and kept pulling out. Details folks! You have a beautiful
facility and there should be no need to get these stupid complaints, pay attention to the
details.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meriden

Address: 2104 N BROAD STREET, North Haven, CT 06473
Location: United States > Connecticut > North Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meriden 2.5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Meriden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Meriden to your Saves list