We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Cafe

Blue Waters Cafe
Hobie Beach, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
+27 41 583 4110
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Vegetarian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Blue Waters Cafe is situated next to the ocean with great views of the bay. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our meals range from light meals, steaks, chicken and fresh fish.
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food , great atmosphere, great view... One of my favourites by far. Fish and chips was nice and fresh!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartho D, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are glad you enjoy our view and our fish and chips. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    117
    44
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The best place to go for breakfast on a sunny day in P.E! The balcony overlooks the beach and the food is exemplary, especially the caramel pancakes! The first time I visited was with a large group, and our food all arrived at different times. We didn't really mind, but the staff were so apologetic and gave us a 50R voucher as an apology. Would definitely recommend eating here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartho D, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your feedback assists us in improving. Glad you enjoy the view and the breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good food; good value; good service; great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had breakfast here with some friends from Port Elizabeth and we enjoyed the service and the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartho D, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback after your last visit!
We hope to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The tastiest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Time and time again I visit this restaurant and every single time they impress me with their food. From pasta to ribs all the way to their sea food menu. A must have is their lindt phyllo truffels all I can say is ...... WOW!!! this is the best desert I have ever had anywhere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartho D, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback after your last visit!
We hope to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Food was mostly good, although far far too much garlic in the pasta. Service with a smile. Specials were great value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartho D, Owner at Blue Waters Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback after your last visit!
We hope to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Waters Cafe also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Blue Waters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.