We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher GuestHouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerstrand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingfisher GuestHouse
Save
You added Kingfisher GuestHouse to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“its a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family and I spent 6 wonderful days at Kingfischer,and without a doubt we will be back.Excellent service that truly gives you that home away from home atmosphere.The room was clean,cosy and really comfortable..considering the fact that we were four in the same room.But what truly sets Kingfischer apart for our family was Henk and Cilliers`s uplifting,warm yet professional attitude towards our family.Just lovely...Z.Moro

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
38
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the geusthouse that gvie the best service. We were very impressed by the way we were treated. Even small things like putting on lights in the evening so that when you get back to your room it is not in darkness. Food everything is of a high class

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Kingfisher. Henk and Cilliers are professionals. Every aspect of the Guest House is in very good taste and quality. The layout of the rooms - each with private patio; the quality of the room accessories (umbrella, gowns, slippers, magazines etc.) - All first class. The delicious breakfast needs a special mention of its own. To top all this, the personal warm attention and service of the hosts has to be experienced in order to believe that "this is how it is done".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Kingfisher was really well positioned for our few days in PE over New year and, staying with our young family, was really convenient for a quick walk to the beach. Overall very impressive with only one small point - the unprotected pool is important to note for small children. The accommodation was extremely well appointed, very comfortable and the service, including breakfast, was simply outstanding. Dinners in the area were slightly limited but our hosts recommended some great spots within a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Knysna room has the extra space for kids with a foldout couch and it was very helpful to have a cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Kingfisher is absolute pefection. It is the very best place that I have stayed away from home. Henk and Cilliers are superb hosts. We will not stay anywhere else when visiting Port Elizabeth......Donovan / Claudette / Claire

Room Tip: All rooms are absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a lovely B&B - Henk and Cilliers were wonderful hosts and so accommodating! Perfectly situated. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were outstanding - always with a little home baked extra!! Would definitely recommend it and will certainly stay there whenever visiting PE!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Kingfisher from september 28th to October 1st 2012.
The personal service from Henk and Cilliers was outstanding. The breafast was excellent with freshly baked muffins, fresh fruits, home made cakes, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms, eggs, etc.
The room was spacious, very clean and well organized.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingfisher GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher GuestHouse

Address: 73 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Thank you for considering Kingfisher Guest House as an accommodation option during your upcoming visit to Port Elizabeth. We would be delighted to welcome you to our guest house. A personal welcome awaits you at Kingfisher Guest House, backed by our commitment of making your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Kingfisher Guest House is situated a mere 400 m from the beautiful beaches of Port Elizabeth. The Port Elizabeth Airport is approximately 7 km away; no more than a 10-minute drive by car. A shopping centre is within walking distance from the guest house, whilst the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex, just over a kilometre away, offers a variety of excellent restaurants and cuisine for all tastes. We offer rooms with either a double bed or twin rooms, which are rooms with two single beds. The choice is yours! In addition, our beds are covered in only the finest quality Egyptian cotton percale linen. All our rooms are en-suite and each room has its own private entrance and patio, all distributed around a magnificent pool with chair and table sets and recliners. Please note that the pool area is unfenced and where applicable to your familial status, you are responsible for and should take special care of any minors in your party. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher GuestHouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher GuestHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.