We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable, relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Guesthouse to your Saves list
Palm Beach Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Scarborough Rd | Eastern Cape, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We only stayed one night with or family of 5. We had a large room to accommodate everyone and had a balcony with a view of the ocean. The location is great...easy to find and across the street from the beach. The full English breakfast was excellent and the owner was very helpful with any needs. Not fancy place but a lovely, comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and we hope that you and your family had a great time during your holiday in South Africa. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the friendly city.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
24
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed for four nights this month in this delightful B&B. I found the room to be exceptionally nice, comfortable, clean, and pleasant. The view over the sea is beautiful indeed. The quality of the food was extremely good and the best part was the warm friendly staff. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and recommend this Guesthouse to anyone visiting Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the friendly city.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a perfect stay here over the holidays. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break-away. Ideal for couples traveling together on holiday wanting their own privacy at times but also being able to spend some time as a group.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Toni,

Thank you for the lovely review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the friendly city.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Really nice place, centrally located, spacious rooms, and free wi-fi!!! Staff were friendly and helpful especially considering we stayed there on Christmas Day. The breakfast was pretty good too and the pool area was super cool as we were there on a really hot day. I hope that is two hundred characters!!!!!
Obviously not so I'll have to write more!!!!! I enjoyed the free chocolate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmbeachguesthouse, Owner at Palm Beach Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Phillip
Thank you for the review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Palm Beach Guesthouse and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the friendly city.

Kind Regards
Palm Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the Guest House with my family, great room, great breakfast and the coffee is freshly brewed. The location is excellent just a walk to the beach. Will definately go back :) and my kids loved Delilah the cat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My family and me stayed here for 6 days and we enjoyed it. The guest house is very close to the beach and shops. The room was really spacious and the doors were opened to the pool. Really good free WiFi. Mornings you are served with a good English breakfast. The owners are very helpful, especially Wilson, highly recommend the day tour with him if you are there for a short stay and would like to see in and around PE. The restaurants are 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse and if you like Pizza, highly recommend Charle's. They have really good Pizzas for a good price. If we go back, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the gguest house is perfect and easy to find. close to many amenities, shops, the beach as well as the Board walk. a quiet and secure place to provide a guest with peace of mind. The first day was our wedding and she had to have a good space where she could refresh and do make up with the help of other people. we found the room to have enough space for all of us. while it is a B & B in the room there is everything you may need such that one does not have to bother going to breakfast with the fridge and other utensils in the room. You are at home away from home

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Guesthouse

Address: 4 Scarborough Rd | Eastern Cape, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Beach Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Guesthouse offers four star Bed and Breakfast or Self Catering accommodation and is superbly located metres from the beach. Palm Beach Guesthouse is conveniently situated in Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth close to shopping centers, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, The Boardwalk Casino & Conference Complex and the Humewood Golf course. The Guesthouse offers a sea facing lounge/bar & dining area that opens up onto a thatched braai (BBQ) entertainment area with a separate private swimming pool. Tasty full English & Continental Breakfasts can be enjoyed whilst admiring the sea view. Ten spacious suites are tastefully decorated and have private secure off street parking and private access. The Guesthouse caters equally for the requirements of over night business travelers, long term corporate stays, holidaymakers and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Beach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Guesthouse Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.