We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiralty Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Admiralty Beach House to your Saves list
Admiralty Beach House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Chesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at Admiralty Beach House for one night to recover from an exhausting three days on safari. We weren't disappointed. Our suite was lovely, clean and what one would expect of a five star property. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
48
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Well what a wonderful stay we had, thanks to the Management and Staff you genuine care for your customers. We will definitely go back for yet another stay at your place. Thanks a million, Sias and Hannetjie.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A wonderful 8 night stay for our family of four in the Admiralty Beach House for Christmas 2013! The service, cleanliness and rooms at this beautiful 5 star beach house was exemplary, and our stay in the Pool Room family room, and the Cottage, felt like a home away from home. Beautifully decorated, with large spacious apartments leading right onto the pool deck. Our kids aged 6 and 4 were overjoyed to have their own TV in their room, with DSTV and its own remote! Breakfasts were the finest fare with full English Breakfasts every morning, and a 50 meter walk to a wonderful swimming beach with rock pools. Alan and Jo (owners) really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome, offering us the use of the main kitchen, living room, patio areas and braai facilities for an extended family Christmas Eve dinner for nine, and even lending us their kite for flying on the beach! Without a doubt the best holiday we've had as a family to date, and we will definitely be back in the future! Thank you! The Nienaber Family

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Owner at Admiralty Beach House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Mandy, Murray.

Hope you are well after your holiday in Port Elizabeth. Just wanted to say thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having your family stay with us and we do hope to see you back at Admiralty soon. All the best for 2014! Hugs Jo, Alan and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

After long flights from UK, Admiralty Beach House was the perfect first night in South Africa.Very easy to get to from the airport and well appointed. We stayed in the cottage meeting up with son teaching with a charity in township schools. The rooms were beautifully furnished and very comfortable. There were lots of little personal touches making you feel very welcome. Breakfast was cooked to individual order and superb. An outstanding good place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have stayed in many places around the world, but who would have thought that PE has one of my favorite! The rooms were stunning, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast provided something for every appetite. Don't pass PE without sleeping over here...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here a thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The welcome was outstanding, the Garden Suite met all our expectations. We so looked forward to breakfast served by folks we quickly accepted as friends. Just across the road to the beach, just up the road to excellent restaurants. We could not have found a better place in Port Elizabeth. Thank you Jo and Alan...we sincerely hope to meet you both again.
Janet and Andrew from the Cotswolds, UK.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Because of flight delays in Johannesburg, we only arrived in PE quite late in the evening but nevertheless were cheerfully welcomed at ABH. The breakfast was excellent and made a good start to our Garden Route adventure. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 metres from Pollock beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is literally across the road from the Guest House. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. The city boasts 10 long golden beaches and the 4th best weather in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiralty Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.