We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waves Room = Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiralty Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Admiralty Beach House to your Saves list
Admiralty Beach House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waves Room = Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at this lovely, clean place. Our room (Waves) is nicely decorated and very comfortable with a lounge. Every room has an own entrance and is individually decorated. The breakfast was delicious and you can choose: fruits, a fresh tarte, eggs, bacon, different jams, cheese, cold cuts, juices, cereals, joghurt and fresh coffee. The breakfast room and the pool area are cozy and inviting. The owners are nice and will give you tipps for the area. You have to try this place, it is also very close to the beach, we will come back again, when we are in PE. Absolutely perfect, more is not possible. Thanks a lot to the owners.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    11
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
60
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A stunning room and with every single little extra detail thought through. I appreciated the generosity of the hosts to provide the extra details which other B&Bs dont offer (even in the same price range) It costs nothing to offer tea on arrival or leave a good coffee machine in the lounge, or leave ear buds and torch/ matches/ candles etc in the room. Or tie towels with fresh sprigs of lavender etc. For us it was the first and only B&B which left plates and cutlery in the room in case we wanted to eat back in the B&B. We sat on the outside patio in front of our room and enjoyed some delicious take away one evening and didnt feel akward as we had silverware and lovely plates and even champagne glasses!! There is salt and pepper and sauces in the reception which was freely available too.
The other reviewers have commented on the lovely gardens and pool area which is gorgeous and the breakfast room is heavenly. French music playing, blueberry cakes, pankcakes, large selection of fresh fruit and cereals, sliced cold meats, lots of cheese etc makes for one of the best breakfasts on offer on the Garden Route.... and that was just the cold breakfast!! After scimping and being forced to ask for a bit of cheese etc in other places it was great to have a place where we got value for money and it was delicious too. Hot breakfasts were excellent too.
Highly recommended.
We also are aware that some folk had issues with the petrol station across the road but we slept soundly and didnt hear anything

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Beautiful stay, 5 star venue with 5 star service. The food is out of this world. Definately one of the guest houses that we have stayed in. A PE must.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffee Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you are going to PE - there is only one place to stay the Admiralty guesthouse! This guesthouse is beautifully decorated and very well run. I breathed a sigh of relief after our long drive when i was shown to a beautifully decorated room with a big white fluffy bed with crisp white linen complete with satellite tv and fluffy bathrobes. The bathroom with its marble finishing and big bath is so luxurious and the breakfast we were presented with the next morning was 5 star, put it this way The Admiralty was my sanctuary for 2 days. I would highly recommend this guesthouse which is also in a great location - only 2 min walk from the beach and 5 min drive from shops and restaurants. Thanks guys for your excellent hospitality Admiralty - we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Next time you need to go to PE, I can without a doubt recommend the Admiralty Beach House. The service is world-class and nothing is too much trouble and the bonus is – very competitive, almost unbelievable rates for a 5 star guesthouse! Josephine (the owner) has a hands-on approach and ensures that guests are well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at Admiralty Beach House in April this year and I would highly recommend it for families or any traveller for that matter.
We stayed in the beautiful Poolside suite which was spacious and sunny and very well appointed. It has a bathroom with both bath and shower and the convenience of 2 toilets.
Breakfast was one of the best we have had in any establishment during our travels. The selection was so vast and the presentation stylish,served on the pooldeck where we lingered for most of the mornings. The outdoor areas of Admiralty are very beautiful with many mosaics and water features, complemented by a lush tropical garden. The owners are art lovers and the interiors boast beautiful and original works of art, some of which are on sale.
The staff are clearly well trained and experienced, friendly and most helpful. We are really looking forward to our next visit as it was a real home from home stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Admiralty Beach house is worth the money. Clean and tasteful. The staff is helpful and friendly. The garden environment is peaceful. It's near the beach

Room Tip: It depends on your own need
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiralty Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers three luxury double rooms, three studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a four-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 200 meters walking distance to the beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is a 5 minute drive away. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiralty Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.