We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Admirality Beach House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiralty Beach House

Save Saved
You added Admiralty Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Admiralty Beach House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Admirality Beach House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Beautiful stay, 5 star venue with 5 star service. The food is out of this world. Definately one of the guest houses that we have stayed in. A PE must.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
41
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coffee Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you are going to PE - there is only one place to stay the Admiralty guesthouse! This guesthouse is beautifully decorated and very well run. I breathed a sigh of relief after our long drive when i was shown to a beautifully decorated room with a big white fluffy bed with crisp white linen complete with satellite tv and fluffy bathrobes. The bathroom with its marble finishing and big bath is so luxurious and the breakfast we were presented with the next morning was 5 star, put it this way The Admiralty was my sanctuary for 2 days. I would highly recommend this guesthouse which is also in a great location - only 2 min walk from the beach and 5 min drive from shops and restaurants. Thanks guys for your excellent hospitality Admiralty - we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Next time you need to go to PE, I can without a doubt recommend the Admiralty Beach House. The service is world-class and nothing is too much trouble and the bonus is – very competitive, almost unbelievable rates for a 5 star guesthouse! Josephine (the owner) has a hands-on approach and ensures that guests are well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at Admiralty Beach House in April this year and I would highly recommend it for families or any traveller for that matter.
We stayed in the beautiful Poolside suite which was spacious and sunny and very well appointed. It has a bathroom with both bath and shower and the convenience of 2 toilets.
Breakfast was one of the best we have had in any establishment during our travels. The selection was so vast and the presentation stylish,served on the pooldeck where we lingered for most of the mornings. The outdoor areas of Admiralty are very beautiful with many mosaics and water features, complemented by a lush tropical garden. The owners are art lovers and the interiors boast beautiful and original works of art, some of which are on sale.
The staff are clearly well trained and experienced, friendly and most helpful. We are really looking forward to our next visit as it was a real home from home stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Admiralty Beach house is worth the money. Clean and tasteful. The staff is helpful and friendly. The garden environment is peaceful. It's near the beach

Room Tip: It depends on your own need
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Was recommended to Admiralty after staying at the Garden Court for a week.

The rooms are mixed. Some of them are fantastic and others just ok. But overall comfortable with enough space. I stayed in 4 different rooms over the few weeks i was there and the best of them all was Waves....i think.

Everything is very comfortable and breakfast is a treat. The owners are around at breakfast most morning, but Diane is the real gem. She's there mostly and very accommodating. I recommended a few of my colleagues and they loved it as well.

It's rated 5 star, but I would disagree. All is in place for it to be 5 star, but with that kind of rating it's the small things that count....like switching on lights at nite, choc on pillow, bed opened etc. This is done on the first nite only.

Noise from street can be loud in certain rooms as it's a main bus and taxi route. So if you are a late sleeper, be prepared to rouse early here.

Having said that it does not put me off. What I got for the money paid was well worth it!

Great job!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

This accommodation was recommended to us by a travel agent in the UK and it was absolutely fantastic. There are 7 guest rooms each with their own theme, we stayed in the Fish Pond room and there is actually a fish pond situated just outside the room.

The room is just so luxurious and has an adjacent bathroom which is just amazing. There is great attention to detail and everything imaginable is included in the room for you to use - hairdryer, fridge (minibar where everything was very reasonably priced), microwave, torch and candles (in case of power cut), umbarell, bath robes, shower gel, shampoo, soap, air freshener, etc.

The breakfast was absolutely excellent as well, again with everything you can imagine on offer

All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble and the owners of the accommodation met us on arrival and made us feel very welcome

There is a lovely garden area at the back of the property which is a great chilling out area where there is ample seating, there is also a small pool and sun loungers with towels provided

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Admiralty Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Beach House

Address: 9 Admiralty Way, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Beach House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admiralty Beach house offers 4 luxury double rooms, two studio suites and two family rooms. Each of these rooms have a unique theme and appeal, and a cosy, neat bathroom with bath tub and separate shower. Each room is equipped with all amenities expected of a five-star establishment; fully stocked mini bar, TV with 40 dedicated channels, a business desk with high speed wireless internet connection, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Admiralty is perfectly situated in the beachfront suburb of Summerstrand, a 10 minute drive to the city center, the airport and 150 metres from Pollock beach. It is close to the Boardwalk Casino, entertainment complex and very well placed to visit the local Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Technicon. The Humewood Golf course, one of the world's most challenging link courses, is literally across the road from the Guest House. Port Elizabeth is known as the wartersports capital of South Africa and is a popular holiday destination due to its eco attractions, mild winters and ideal bathing conditions all year round. The Admiralty Beach House is only an hours drive to local National Parks like Addo Elephant Park, Shamwari, Schotia and many other game parks. The city boasts 10 long golden beaches and the 4th best weather in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Admiralty Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiralty Beach House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiralty Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.