We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carslogie House

Save Saved
You added Carslogie House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carslogie House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 7th Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Cape Town
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Not only is Carslogie House beautiful and tastefully decorated, it has an amazing and relaxed atmosphere. Our hosts, Christien and Chris went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and cared for. It was the perfect home-away-from-home with all the added comforts and luxuries. I can definitely recommend it and will definitely be back. Christien and Chris, thank you for making our stay Carslogie House one that we won't forget soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
75
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Every attention to detail in the rooms. lovely personal touches. Breakfast delicious. Rooms 1 and 3 are small and only have double beds, small cupboard in room 1, so best suited to individuals. I was disappointed we were placed in the smaller rooms as a family of 4 booking 2 rooms when individuals were placed in the larger rooms. I was under the impression all rooms had a queen size bed at least. It seems rooms are allocated on a first come first serve basis or are reserved for regulars. We were able to move to room 5 for 3 nights which was more comfortable, but then we had to move back to a smaller room. Not quite the 5 star service i was expecting. Rooms are around the pool so not as quite as i would have wanted but considering it';s December it's understandable..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carslogie, Owner at Carslogie House, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
I am very pleased that these guests enjoyed the attention to detail which Carslogie House is well known for. Unfortunately the review states incorrectly that the beds in the rooms they occupied were double beds. They are, in fact queen size beds. All guests are treated equally and our policy is not to inconvenience guests who have asked for specific rooms with specific requirements,eg, king/twin beds, triple room and bookings made well in advance. Upon making this booking, these guests were informed that the only rooms available were rooms 1 and 3 and that they had queen beds. They were happy to accept these rooms under these circumstances. It would have been most unfair to have inconvenienced the other guests, whom have made their bookings months in advance, specifying twin/king/triple rooms, in order to accommodate this family who only made their booking after the rest of the rooms had already been booked, some since the beginning of 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Carslogie will be a place I return to if I come back to South Africa. I did read a complaint in another review about it not being "luxury". Come one. Everything is relative to the rates. This is a solid accommodation given the reasonable rates. I was completely spoiled by South African service at small guest houses and Carslogie was no exception. Friendliness and willingness to help were the order of the day. This can become habit forming!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I returned for our 5th visit to Carslogie House in Oct 2011. Yet again, we were extremley pleased with our stay, nothing is too much trouble for the most wonderful and friendly staff, the whole house is a delight, the rooms are all large and airy, the bed, as always, the most comfortable during the whole of our stay in South Africa - and we did travel around, and the breakfasts really are superb. We cannot wait for our next trip, which would not be complete without a stay at Christines!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hospitality and Service were simply superb!
The rooms were extraordinary tasteful furnished.
We felt welcomed immediately and experienced a familiar atmosphere.
erikawisser@krisch.co.za

Room Tip: All rooms superb, depend on needs and preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was another return trip back to Port Elizabeth and Carslogie B&B. The owner and staff were friendly and great as usual. There was plenty of privacy and exceptionally clean rooms. The pool is always clean and refreshing. I will book my stay here the next time that I am lucky enough to return to the Port Elizabeth area. Thank you for making me feel at home for so long.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at Carslogie in April and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are luxurious and beautifully situated around the swimming pool. They are clean and comfortable and very spacious. The owners were very friendly and helpful and made a great dinner recommendation. The breakfast is very tasty and substantial and set us up well for the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carslogie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carslogie House

Address: 11 7th Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Carslogie House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carslogie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carslogie House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carslogie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.