We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boardwalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Boardwalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boardwalk Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Africology Spa Discount
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Summerstrand
Johannesburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel, with high levels of service from staff and a very comfortable and well appointed room.

The experience is on another level compared to similar rates at other hotels.

I would recommend this hotel to business and leisure travelers alike.

Small touches like free wifi and real coffee (that you can brew in your room) set this hotel apart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear JakeFrank
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
42
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Wow!!! What a wonderful and beautiful hotel.
My husband and I stayed for one night at the Boardwalk Hotel and Spa and the service was excellent from the minute we parked our car in the basement parking to the minute we checked out.
Our luxury king room was stunning! The furnishings of the room were very elegant and sophisticated and the view of the beachfront from our balcony was superb.
A lovely buffet breakfast awaited us the next morning with a wide variety of food.
The staff were friendly and accommodating.
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Natalie G
Your feedback is so important to us and we thank you for the wonderful comments on our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa in the near future again.
Have a great day further.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I would like to compliment Boardwalk for bringing up such a Stylish hotel and Restaurant.
The service is 5 Star and the food also.

The waitresses and Manager made me feel like I'm the most important person that evening.
I've never seen such service in my life comparing to other 5 star restaurants.

Keep up the good work and service, because people will come back for more 5 Star Cuisine and Service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Werner d
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our Food and services, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa in the near future again.
Have a wonderful day
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here with my wife, daughter and her boyfriend and will definitely be returning.

Free parking; free wifi; efficient check in and check out; upgraded to two suites (awesome). Great facilities: indoor heated pool; outdoor pool; gym; spa; turn-down service with great touches like Lindt chocolates nightly and complimentary bottles of water.

Only issue was service in the restaurant which, given the level of service in the rest of the hotel, is I expect already sorted out. I expect this will be the case as Sun International have already followed up on feedback they sought from me and, as a result, have nominated a couple of members of staff for 'Thriller' nomination awards. Great to see an organisation visibly utilising feedback.

The nominations were for three people:
The Hotel General Manager's Executive Secretary who went way beyond her expected duties to arrange stuff for us.
The Hotel driver who dropped us at the Airport and The Concierge who worked together to get the mobile phone I dropped in the car back to me at the Airport in a very short space of time.

Go to the Boardwalk - I doubt you will be disappointed.

As Arnie said: "I'll be back"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear StoneColdTricky
Thank you for the wonderful feedback on our property and our staff, your comments have been noted and forwarded to all the relevant departments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 8 days while he was playing in The African Youth Chess Championships. The service was vastly improved since our stay in July this year. The breakfast was delicious with excellent service. We were able to get a plain toasted cheese in our room within 25 minutes. Thank you. It made it a lot easier for my son to rest between games. Unfortunately, on 2 occasions our room had not been cleaned by 3pm which did interfere with his rest time. The heated indoor pool is great as the weather in PE is very unpredictable. I did have to ask 3 staff members to please stop cleaning while we were there as the sound of the machines echoed in the pool room. The high tea on a Saturday afternoon is delicious and excellent value.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear InspiredParenting
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel; it was such a pleasure hosting you and your son at our hotel over the 8 days. We have taken note of your comments and will action them accordingly. The Boardwalk Hotel looks forward to welcoming you and your wonderful family back to our Hotel.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

stayed here with my wife over a long weekend in August...from the outset...the free parking and free wifi are much appreciated. Check in was friendly and fast and we were shown to our room. Fabulous, spacious 4th floor room with a view of the pool and beach promenade. The rooms are very well appointed. Very comfortable bedding and linen. Bathrooms are very stylish and molton brown amenities add class to to the overall room experience. The breakfast spread is very good and would recommend sitting on the balcony as the views are excellent. We also used teh Africology spa which is an experience. The treatments and products are great...only wished the masseuse did not try so hard to sell me the products at the end of the therapy. Where this hotel lacks is on 'consistent' service delivery. The housekeeping lets this hotel down...there is inconsistent service in the way the room is attended to...some days we had one bottle of water, other days two, sometimes these left on the bed stands, one time by thd mini bar and once in thd bathroom..soap and amenities in the bathroom would not get refilled/ replaced and we had to keep asking for these and for fresh towels each day. On one occassion, only one towel was left in the room and after calling 3 times (over 45 mins), I got an additional one. when we went for breakfast in the first day, we probably received the best service for a long time...our server was excellent. On the two other days we were there for breakfast, the service was poor to average. Non attentive staff, wrong orders etc. all of teh problems were attended to but should take place in teh first place and distract from the experience. This is a good hotel in a great location at the end of the garden route and I would stay here again. However, if the hotel can just get the end to end service model right, then this would be a great hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Simbaonsafari
We thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our property. Your feedback is most important to us, we do apologies for the inconvenience you experienced while staying at the Boardwalk Hotel. We are currently working on the issues mentioned and we thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My daughters and I booked 2 inter-leading rooms for a weekend getaway at this lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were made to feel welcome. The staff are well trained and very helpful. Our rooms were the standard rooms, but definitely of a 5star quality. We especially enjoyed the indoor heated pool and also the turn-down service with little touches like Lindt chocolates nightly and complimentary bottles of water daily. Breakfast selection was good and food was tasty. We ate at the in-house restaurant on the Saturday evening, and even though the service was first class, the food unfortunately was disappointing. All in all a good choice of hotel if you feel like spoiling yourself and, being attached to the boardwalk with its entertainment, shopping and dining options, it's location can't be beat in PE.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear 1moretimetraveller
Thank you for the positive feedback on our property and service.
Your comments on our food have been forwarded to the Food and Beverage department and we will use this constructively.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies.The Boardwalk is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boardwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.