We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boardwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boardwalk Hotel to your Saves list
The Boardwalk Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Cape Town, SA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Everything at this establishment was nice. It is next to a beautiful beach, ample safe parking, friendly staff and well-designed conference facility. I also like the way they use the water feature, with the shops next to the water edge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear VPK-CT
Thank you for the positive feedback on our property. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel in the near future again.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    39
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
59
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the hotel has its own character! large reception/entrance halls and high ceilings with French Mediterranean themes! décor and flowers so beautiful! loved the view from the bar and pool overlooking the sea! the rooms are splendid! crisp linen and fluffy towels. when you retire to your room at night you find slippers placed on a starched whiten linen! "what more can I ask for! the separate make-up mirrors made my evening preparation effortless! the African Spa is so gracious and the sauna facility. the view is so amazing and all rooms are sea facing! 5 minutes form Airport!

Room Tip: rooms leading into the garden and pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Koki80
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and Africology Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This 5* hotel has everything u could ask for. Luxury, style nd location. Adjacent to the famous Boardwalk Casino. by far the best hotel ive ever stayed in. Had a king size room leading put to the pool. view is spectacular, overlooking the ocean. Ideal for romantic getaways, family vacations etc. Staff is efficient nd friendly, food is absolutely devine. There's also an indoor pool, gym and spa. cant wait till my next visit.

Room Tip: Request the Luxury king corner suites, they large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Allisonh92,
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can not say enough about this hotel !!! It is by far one of the best Hotels I have ever stayed in, the location is great, the rooms are ample and the value of money leaves me speechless. I keep comparing what I got here at the Boardwalk casino to what we got when we travelled to Europe and I really can not compare. The Boardwalk Hotel is a thousand times better value for money than any of the hotels we stayed in, in Europe in May.

The staff is really helpful and very friendly.

This is a great operation and worth a try when you are in Port Elizabeth. It was the highlight in my stay in Port Elizabeth.

I am hooked and this is the one hotel I will be staying at again when I come down to Port Elizabeth.

Wifi is free, room service is brilliant and affordable (Believe it or not)

Room Tip: Check the speicals, the rates are really good.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Markfurness
Your feedback is important to us and we thank you for this positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel. We trust that your next stay will be as memorable as the last.
Kind Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed in most hotels in PE over the many stays including the Radison, Kelway, The Beach etc and this is the best yet. All staff were very friendly and helpful with one minor upset regarding newspaper availabilty at breakfast. the reception staff were excellent even the car park staff were really more than just polite. The restaurant was super, food great, service great, good wine choice without the feeling you were mugged. First class and already planning the next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear RoadrunnerDorset
Your feedback is important to us and we thank you for this positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel.
Kind Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

View were great around the hotel. Do not forget the water display every night on the hour. Casino opposite, but don't go through the door opposite the hotel as that is the smokers area, use the entrance down the side. Nice walk along the boardwalk

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear AlbertA1948
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel and Boardwalk Complex. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the Lake Spectacular Show. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.
Kind Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On arrival impressed by hotel architecture and surrounding boardwalk area, weather a bit miserable but met at check in with smiles, checked into room and found it to be excellently
Laid out and of a very high standard bathroom really well equipped, main room opened out onto balcony which gave access to front aspect of hotel.
Casino itself gave that Vegas feel and surrounding board walk had plenty of choice for shopping and eating would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear PansyanChunk,
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.
Kind Regards,
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boardwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.