We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay! Would go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boardwalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Boardwalk Hotel to your Saves list
The Boardwalk Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Novi, Michigan
1 review
“Great Place to stay! Would go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Many things to like about this hotel. First thing you'll notice is the beautiful building style and architecture of the hotel itself. When walking in you'll find a large lobby and beautiful flowers and chandeliers. The security is fantastic as well with 24/7 representatives all over the campus including the elevator doors. The breakfast is a huge buffet that includes many American items that I liked. You can even order your own omelets and such just the way you like it. There are two pools but I only swam in the indoor heated one. The outdoor one has a beautiful view of the boardwalk and water. Also used the fitness center that has a solid amount of equipment. The location of the hotel could not be better as it is next to many shopping stores and markets. If you gamble the casino is huge (smoking and non-smoking). Another nice feature is the nightly water fountain show in the middle of the hotel campus. Overall it reminds me of a disneyland hotel if you've ever been to one of those and it is great for families or even couples. Will stay here for sure if I come back to Port Elizabeth!

Room Tip: Try and get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Chris R
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again. Its nice to know that we had a few items on our menu that reminded you of home. We trust that your next stay with us will be as memorable as the last.
Kind Regards
The Boardwalk Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    39
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
59
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlasville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have just spent 4 nights at the Boardwalk Hotel in Port Elizabeth, while attending a Congress at the Boardwalk Conference Centre. What a treat! The property is absolutely stunning, the food is to die for and the staff couldn't be friendlier and more efficient! The hotel and Convention Centre are located in the same building, with an elegant and classy atmosphere. It has a gym and 2 beautiful swimming pools (an in-door and an-outdoor) which unfortunately I didn't have time to use.

From the shuttle pick-up to the drop-off at the airport I never had anything to complain or moan about!

The staff were fantastic... the doormen, the security guards, the waiters, the chefs, the housekeepers... everyone greets you with a smile and friendly professional attitude and make you feel at home.

The rooms are large and bright and the beds and pillows very comfortable. I was lucky to stay in a room that had access to a balcony with a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was spacious, with a lovely Victorian bath and a separate shower.

The hotel offers a buffet breakfast with an a-la-carte option. For lunch and dinner, the menu at the restaurant is varied and the food is delicious!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will certainly stay there again when I'm in PE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear ThecaAtlasville
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again. It was a abosolute pleasure hosting the entire SACCI delegation
Kind Regards
The Boardwalk Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have recently attended the SAACI Conference at the Hotel 29-30 July 2013 which had taken place at the Hotel. Our rooms were well appointed and they were extremely comfortable. So often Convention Centres get it wrong and you have gotten it right, and you should be proud of yourselves! The service in the hotel had taken me by surprise as I always thought that Port Elizabeth was the 'sleepy city' and you have lived up to the name of the friendly city! From the time of Check-in until the time I departed I was wowed by the service. The Service that we received at breakfast is by far the best as the staff are attentive and routine visits to our table by management. We could not have asked for more!

It was exceptional to see that Management from all departments got involved and that they were always visible and hands on within the respective departments! Lead by example!

A few of your staff members have made this conference exceptional in terms of the service that was delivered in their respective departments and I am pleased to mention them as they are assets to your Hotel: Fiona, Lloyd and Evan (went beyond exceeding expectations and they should be proud of themselves)

Elmare to you and the rest of your team Congratulations!!!

Will definitely be back for another visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear ScottinScott
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again. It was a absolute pleasure hosting the entire SACCI delegation
Kind Regards
The Boardwalk Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I attended the SAACI Conference on the 29-30 July which also took place at the venue. The hotel is fabulous, the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and efficient. It is always amazing to see how even the General Manager, Elmare Kotze, gets involved operationally. When we checked in, she was there to welcome us, and she was visible throughout our stay, and during the conference as well. The resort really offers a 5* experience. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Port Elizabeth. I'm looking forward to visiting them next time I'm in PE.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a seaview. The view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Vuyo2013
Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
The Boardwalk Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited the above hotel from 21 July to 26 and have been looked after exceptionally well.
All the staff were very courtious and made our stay a memorable one. The restaurant served good food and it was a pleasure to go to breakfast and dinner.
We had a very well appointed room and the service all round very good.
The Management also did their part and spoiled us with the extras the hotel has to offer.
It will certainly be on our calender to visit again.
Thys and Regina Walters

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing so you have an excellent view from all the rooms but the higher you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Walters
Thank you for the positive feedback on our Hotel, it was such a pleasure to host you and Mrs Walters, we look forward to your next visit and we will do our best to make the next one as memorable as the last.
Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrydale, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I and my APT groups regularly stay at this superb beachfront hotel where we are always blown away by the friendly and efficient staff led by the exuberant Ms Fulu Manaka. The beachfront views are to die for and the entire Boardwalk experience is most memorable . Fit for a President (even Mr Zuma will be here tomorrow ).
Annie van Der Meulen. Tourist Guide

Room Tip: Sea facing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Annie v

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on our hotel, its always a pleasure to have your groups visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel Convention Centre & Spa. Our team will do its best to make your next stay as memorable as this one.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Addo. What a beautiful hotel and fantastic service. When we arrived we received a welcome drink and we were taken on a tour through the hotel to familiarise ourselfes with all the facilities the hotel offers. Our room was on the 7th floor with a beautiful sea view, spacious and had a very nice bathroom with a Victorian bath and shower with all the nice bath goodies. A Coffee and tea tray was offered with filtered coffee and hot chocolate. The breakfast was a spread of fresh fruit juices, selection of fruits, muesli, fish, hot breakfast with eggs, beacon, sausages, cold meat and choice of different cheese and preserves. Pastries, waffles and pancakes with cream and syrup ended the breakfast with nice hot coffee. The service and food was good. We enjoyed our one night’s stay and will definitely be back soon. We can highly recommend The Broadwalk Hotel & Casino for your next stay in PE.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Vorsters

Thank you for the positive feedback on our hotel, we really value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre & Spa. We trust that your next stay with us will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards
The Boardwalk Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boardwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardwalk Hotel

Address: Corner Lodge & Beach Road | Port Elizabeth, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boardwalk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Hotel, Convention Centre and Spa charmingly captures the grace and detail of Victorian architecture whilst incorporating every modern convenience. The result is a refreshing blend of refinement and urban vogue set against the azure backdrop of the Indian Ocean. Boasting 140 sea-facing guestrooms with an average room size of 39m², the hotel's unique variety of accommodation options satisfy every requirement and offer modern conveniences such as plasma screen TVs, luxurious beds, mini bars and bijou balconies. The 5 Star Boardwalk Hotel is the most exciting leisure attraction in the Eastern Cape, offering 24-hour entertainment and superior conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your The Boardwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardwalk Hotel Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boardwalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.