We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ticked all the boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Marine to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Marine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“ticked all the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Did everything I expected for a night's stay. Decent breakfast, clean modern chain hotel though not much to do in the immediate vicinity so i wouldn't mark it high for location but I was satisfied with the experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
44
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were traveling from Cape Town to Transkei and stayed over at Protea Hotel Marine for one night. Upon arriving at the Hotel the Reception Staff were very welcoming. As we entered the room we were allocated twin beds but we were so tired that we didn't feel like asking them to convert the bed back to a double. We were in the room for +/-15mins then we received a courtesy call from Jason the Manager on Duty where he immediately gave us a comp upgrade to one of their Loft Suites with a bottle of bubbly.

The breakfast was top class and we have decided that this Hotel has the best breakfast service with the most attentive staff.

We enjoyed our stay and it was an awesome pitstop.

Room Tip: Stay in a loft suite; it's nice and spacious. Have breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful. They arranged transportation to the airport for us and helped us with things to do. Our room was nicely made up and the included breakfast buffet was delicious. We had a sea-facing room which we enjoyed thoroughly. We were high up so we had no road noise. The location is convenient as well and we walked everywhere that we went.

Room Tip: A room facing the sea costs a little more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Enjoyed a relaxing time after busy day at hotel. Fun and good experience.very good hotel and location. Staff very good and polite, helpful. Seafront facing rooms is fantastic. Good food and wholesome meals.

Room Tip: Choose seafront facing rooms with breathless views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The front desk staff on duty went beyond helpful to perfect our stay, after having two noisy rooms we were accomodated in a suite with peace and quiet. A lovely stay, lovely position. The only negative is the price of there meals, way to expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent Hotel .. Very nice Rooms , clean washrooms , quick room service , amazingly beautiful location .. Very good breakfast and good prices ...Everything was at par with our expectations ..Very polite staff and very soft spoken... We took non sea facing room other wise i would suggest sea facing room ... Morning is so soothing and beautiful at the beach across the road ....

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room... its worth it ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

An very well located (on the beachfront road close to the casino) clean businessman's hotel. Rooms very well appointed, good selection of TV, Bathroom and shower clean, food good, service good and friendly, secure parking, I always use it on the weekends as the rates are much lower then and they are not that full.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Protea Hotel Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Marine

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#3 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Marine Port Elizabeth - Adding value, always. Among the superior beachfront hotels in Port Elizabeth, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine is unparalleled. Overlooking the sun-drenched sands of Pollock Beach, with sweeping views of Algoa Bay, this hotel, in the heart of the Friendly City, is renowned for its quality facilities, personal service and luxurious atmosphere. From the moment you enter the Protea Hotel Marine, you know you are in an exceptional establishment. The large reception area is elegantly decorated, offering the first taste of a stay that promises an unforgettable experience in comfort and style. Ideal for holidaymakers, families and executives alike, the 4-Star Protea Hotel Marine offers luxurious accommodation in a range of comfortable en-suite rooms that boast spectacular sea views. Delicious meals can be enjoyed in the hotel restaurant and there are excellent conference facilities which can cater for 10 - 90 delegates. The Protea Hotel Marine is situated within walking distance of safe, sandy beaches, various swimming pools, a casino and entertainment complex, not to mention the Museum and Snake Park, and various sporting facilities, including golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth
Protea Hotel Marine Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.