We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth to your Saves list
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Always welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here many times before, and this time we found that the hotel was being refurbished during our stay, this however made no difference to our experience, rooms were superb, a balcony view over the ocean.
Staff were warm and friendly and could not do enough for you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
43
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have reviewed this hotel already and it just gets better.We spent just one night at the end of November and chose a smaller unit instead of the family unit , well almost the same size. The rooms are large with a small self catering kitchenett which I was surprised to see as thought those were only in the family units. The rooms are well stocked with amenities, coffee tea and
our favourite there biscuits. All there rooms face the sea and have balconies which most Hotels in Port Elizabeth dont. The dolls my favourite thing about the hotel are available to purchase in reception. Breakfast as always huge and there coffee is excellent. Great hotel with great staff and perfect rooms, thank you Courtyard for another super stay,

Room Tip: all the rooms have great views of the sea , but upstairs for me seems the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I would like to complement the staff at the Courtyard Port Elizabeth. The room had the most amazing view, and everything in the room was just perfect! will go back anytime, and will recommend it to anyone whether for business or leisure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for that lovely review. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed over at the Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth for 3 nights. The general staff is very friendly, helpful and they really made us feel welcome. The reception staff assisted us in no time and they are professional. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety to choose from. The rooms are clean and enough space for two people. Even a nice little kitchenette to prepare your own lunch or dinner. All this was great! Sadly, that is all that was good about our stay. Now the bad... Firstly, the hotel has 3 levels. The 1st floor is level with the parking lot, which means that the ground floor is essentially in a cave because you have to use the stairs to go down one level. (LOL... we called it the dungeon). It feels and smells like a cave when you down there and any noise is amplified/echoed through the passage. When the cleaners needed supplies or assistance from one another, they would yell at each other which made it worse. I am sure staying on the 1st or 2nd level is better, but stay away from ground level. Trust me on this. Secondly, the door latches does not close elegantly. We could hear people on the 1st and 2nd floors as they enter their rooms. They make one heck of a noise when closing. Thirdly, we stayed at a 4 star hotel, in the year 2014 and the rooms have CRT type TV’s (CRT = Cathode Ray Tube - Just fancy name for the old tube TV’s). Come guys, really??? I'm sure one can't even buy those anymore!!! Bigger flat screen TV’s are not that expensive anymore. You can actually afford them when you want to run a 4 star hotel, not so? In closing, if you want to stay there for the night, just to have fun at the casino, I would recommend this hotel. However, if you intend to have some peace and quiet to rest, stay away...

Room Tip: Stay away from ground level...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, staff and rooms. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise and TV's, we will definitely look into this. Thank you for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard on 20 December 2013 our way to Cape Town. Staff were friendly, accommodation spacious, clean and well priced. Only draw back, no restaurant on premises, but loads in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Used hotel for one night as stopover to Safari. Nice comfortable room for family of 3, they had placed a full size single bed for my 14 year old which was nice. Clean, comfortable and very handy for the boardwalk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Happy New Year - thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed here four times and enjoyed every one of them. The rooms are large and comfortable, the views over the ocean are great. We stayed in Port Elizabeth for many years and loved the place. The only problem we had was the black mould in the shower. This means that the shower is not cleaned and disinfected regularly. Unacceptable! When I reported that to the front desk, the lady was mildly amused. We were not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Address: 1 Lodge Road Cnr Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.