We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine boutique hotel in Pt.Elizabeth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Bornemouth Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fine boutique hotel in Pt.Elizabeth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked for 2 nights. Liked it so much we added a 3rd. Small, about 10 rooms, modern clean architecture, comfortable room, and near the beachfront. Friendly helpful staff and it has a small bar and restaurant. Easy walk to nearby restaurants and some shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenview123, Manager at Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back soon. We are also in the process of doing an overall refurbishment of services and facilities for our guests.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed there for just one night mid August.
Our room was very spacious and nicely decorated, with partial sea view, and the bathroom was just beautiful. The kids were also very happy with their room.
We found the Staff to be well trained, smiling and friendly.
This relatively small hotel does not have a porter service - we ended up carrying our luggage ourselves as there was only one woman to help and 4 big bags to carry...
Even though, I do not hesitate to give an excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenview123, Manager at Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback and my apologies for not having a porter on duty to assist you. We will look at how we can eliminate this problem for future stays and for the comfort for our other guests.
We are also doing a service and facilities upgrade at the moment, so we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two months ago and found it to be of great value. This time around the rate was double and the service was shocking. On arrival they weren't expecting us, as their system had the dates wrong, we were made to feel like it was our fault, yet our booking confirmation had us on the correct date, we were not offered any apology. They found a suite for us but compared to our last stay in which were made to feel very welcome this time there was not much of that. Two of the pillows didn't have covers on and the room was freezing. Breakfast is not great either. It all sounds wonderful on the menu but doesn't as good. I think we may try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenview123, Manager at Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

I have just taken over the management of the Hotel and are really sorry to hear about your bad experience, even more so considering that this was your second time around and you already expected great service and facilities. I would like to assure you that I am currently busy with a major upgrade of facilities and services to ensure that it will be at the level expected of a 5 star facility. I hope and trust that you will give us another chance to prove that we can be one of the best Hotels in PE.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally in the near future.
Thank you and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked online two months before our stay, and reserved and paid for a room with sea view.

Arrived and was met by a friendly like at reception who checked us in and took us up to our very nice room...which faced someone's garden, and away from the sea. I asked the bloke and he laughed, saying I should have chosen a room when I booked, and that all the other rooms were occupied. He realised I was serious when I showed him my confirmation which specified a sea view room. The response? We were offered $10 discount! Ultimately this became an offer of a bottle of wine which we refused, and I politely asked for my money back , we would go elsewhere. First they said they didn't have cash, nor the code to refund me on my credit card. Then offered a treatment at the spa for my wife, if they had space which he doubted because they were busy. I asked for a refund again.

I then asked for the owner or managers number since there was no one around except the bloke at reception but was told the owner was in East London and there was no manager available. Simply I then said they had the option one more time to refund me and call it a day and suddenly the managers details were found.

It may sound incidental but actually the view was one of the principal reasons for choosing this hotel - we had come all the way from Johannesburg and seeing the sea from our room was what we really wanted.

We went to the Radisson which had lovely views and that will be the place we look to book for our December holidays, not the dishonest Isango Gate. The fact that no manager was around when the whole problem occurred, and the fact that one week later no one has called me to apologies shows their actual disregard for customers...and that isn't what you expect from a five star hotel.

The no view bait and switch really seemed that this was a regular scam at Isango Gate and I would warn prospective guests to be wary of this when choosing his establishment. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room but don't expect to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

After staying at another hotel regularly we decided to stay here, why we never found this earlier I don't know. The service is great, the rooms are beautifully decorated and I even had a massage at the lovely spa. A really lovely place to stay and you get so much more for what you pay for. We will definitely be coming back here on our regular stays in PE.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful n peaceful hideaway in Port Elizabeth,,excellent service with friendliest and honest staff. Thank for keeping my Pad,never knew there some honest ppl nowadays ! Many thanks!not forgetting their superb healthy breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful boutique hotel (before and after a safari) on the first night we arrived late and tired and to our sheer delight had been upgraded to the presidential suite; bonus! The staff are attentive, helpful and courteous. The suites are spacious, modern and all have superb showers. We used the spar for a back massage and it was incredible value for money and one of the best massages we have both ever had. This hotel is tucked away off the main road but in a prime location on the sea front; it is a hidden gem and we shall certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliecox29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
0.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Marine
Protea Hotel Marine
#5 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 23 Bornemouth Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isango boutique hotel and Spa is the only Tourism authority 5 star Boutique hotel and spa in Summerstrand. We have the top rated spa in Port Elizabeth where our highly trained therapists are on hand to pamper you and give you the best spa treatments you could ever wish for. Our 5 star all suite hotel offers individual personal attention We have an award winning chef on site to tailor make any meals you wish. we have state of the art conference facilities as well as a private boardroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel And Spa Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#