We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a business hotel, addition to the PE Hotel scene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Holland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Good as a business hotel, addition to the PE Hotel scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

In January, I stayed for the third time in the PE Radisson, time for review. According to my experience, it is a good business hotel, efficient and reasonably priced. The standard is not quite the same as I have experienced it in other hotels of the group across the world, especially in respect to speed in the bar (had to wait more 15minutes before I could pay for my coffee) and atmosphere (differences between sterile and design...).
The hotel is in a very safe area almost at the beach and a bit out of the center of town. The latter is not an issue as the center has hardly anything to offer.
Breakfast and dinner are okay, stay away from the tables near the outside area as staff (has to??) keep them open all evening which is in the windy city of SA not always a pro.
Rooms are okay and have a nice modern design, although the building quality a bit sub par, however this not a building quality review site I guess ;-)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    140
    62
    25
    10
See reviews for
50
130
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We spent the best part of December travelling through the Garden Route and ended up in PE for Christmas. As we haven't stayed with Radisson before we picked this hotel and was not dissapointed. The rooms are not very big, but clean and modern with wonderful ocean views. We also had Christmas lunch here and what great value! For R185 per person we had a full buffet in the restaurant. The food was great and the atmosphere relaxed with a singer on the terrace. We sat on the terrace all afternoon enjoying the sea views.
There are also a few wonderful beaches nearby, PE seems to be a hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

This must be the hotel with the friendliest staff that I have ever encountered. On arrival a friendly porter stepped up to the car and explained where I should park. Even though I had to walk throug the rain (there is no direct entrance from the parking lot), from the moment I walked into the hotel there were more smiling faces. I got a lovely room with a sea view and free wireless internet. The room had a seperate bath and shower, with a seperate toilet cubicle. The rooms have an interesting design with an open "window" between the bathroom and bedroom. Some people may not like it, but for me it meant that I could listen to the news while I was in the bath! I booked a spa treatment and enjoyed the whole experience. Breakfast was great, but there was so much choice you have to wonder if a lot isn't wasted. They have a chef at the hot buffet that will make your omelette to order, with a choice of olive oil, grapeseed oil and butter!
My room was refreshed every day during my stay. Turndown is only available on request, and once requested they did it every evening. The lifts were a bit slow and in the mornings I had to wait on more than one occasion.
This is a beautiful modern hotel, that is very suitable for business travellers. They even offer 3 hour laundry, which means that I could send in a dirty top after work and have it back later that evening. But next time I'm bringing my friends for a spa weekend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The first time we booked this hotel we were contacted and told that the hotel was still under construction and not ready to host us. We were booked into a stunning lodge nearby and received a letter of apology with a small gift. We were a bit disappointed, but the alternative accommodation was more than satisfactory. We have since returned to PE and booked the Radisson Blu again. What a great hotel! We loved the rooms and the service was excellent. The style is quite modern and different from the other hotels in PE. Even though there was still some construction workers around we couldn't hear them. Wish we had known beforehand to bring our own laptop. This is definitely not the hotel for budget conscious travellers, but worth it if you can afford it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

The staff was very pretentious upon check -in and in subsequent interactions. The concierge did not want to give walking directions but instead insisted on calling a cab for a <2km beachside stroll to the shopping. Staffers knocked on the door and called the room 4 times on day 2 to check the mini bar and to ask if we had an open window (this despite the Do Not Disturb sign)!

Our single dinner at the restraunt Filini was tasty and the service was good. It was bothersome however that a group of persons to whom the staff referred to as "being with the government" constanly had their mobiles ringing which they loudly answered and carried on semi-shouting conversations. Would have dearly appreciated the staff suggesting that they take their calls in the foyer rather than the dining area.

The buffet breakfast (that we had pre-paid for as part of a package) was so stiff and uncomfortable that we only availed ourselves to it once opting instead for groceries from the Pick and Pay.

I will say that there is a lovely view from the rooms however they are tiny with very little storage space. The rooms are best suited for a single person traveling light.

This hotel is ridiculously overpriced and stuffy; certainly not representive of the warm, laid back experiences I've had in my 10 previous trips to South Africa. Do yourself a favour and book with someone else to better enjoy this delightfully clean little town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We booked into the Radisson Blu for our ultimate night in South Africa, promising stunning sea views and an "award winning" restaurant. We arrived to a building site, it was like one of those tragic programmes you used to see in the mid-90s! How can the restaurant be "award winning" if it hasn't even served one meal yet? We sent a letter of complaint on our return to the UK, and got an arrogant letter in receipt. Not what you would expect from Radisson. Very dissapointing! Sure it will be fine once built, but perhaps Radisson is getting too arrogant to provide good service and put it's Clients first?!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth

Address: Corner of Marine Dr & Ninth Ave, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth offers breathtaking sea views from all 173 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. With our eight multifunctional conferencing and banqueting rooms equipped with state of the art technology spanning 633sqm, we cater for a vast array of specialised events. All registered guests and meeting delegates receive complimentary high-speed internet access. "tabu grill, bar & lounge" offers world class bistro style food whilst our lounge and sea view pool terrace is the perfect place to relax, enjoy a cocktail and light snack. Camelot Spa offers our guests the perfect place to unwind and relax. Shuttle Service to the Boardwalk Entertainment Complex ensures guests are always mobile. Enrolment to the Carlson Rezidor loyalty program "Club Carlson" is immediate and free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Hotel Port Elizabeth
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.