We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Helpful and Welcoming- Beautiful Guest House and Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algoa Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Algoa Guest House to your Saves list
Algoa Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredibly Helpful and Welcoming- Beautiful Guest House and Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My mum rang up Algoa from the UK at my request to book us in last minute because I had become unwell at Addo National Park and wanted to be closer to a big town with a hospital in case my illness worsened. It was our 4 year anniversary and Lisa and Roger tried very hard to help us find something we could do whilst I was so ill to try and save it from disaster. I couldn't go out in the end, but Roger brought me medicines and filtered water and showed a lot of concern. He gave me their mobile number so I could call in emergencies. I had to text at 1:30am to ask him to tell us where the local hospital was when he woke up in the morning, and Lisa brought us directions to the hospital at 6am, way before they opened for breakfast. They were very kind indeed. The hotel was gorgeous- a beautiful pool and the room was absolutely gorgeous. I wish we could have stayed under different circumstances. I've put 5/5 for sleep quality because the bed was incredibly comfortable and my partner slept very well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review. We are really sorry that you were not well enough to enjoy your 4th anniversary like you deserved to! Hopefully the next time you are in our wonderful city you will have the opportunity to enjoy all it has to offer. We would really like to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
28
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although we only had an overnight stay at Algoa we were treated so well by Lisa and her staff. The property is well situated near to the airport, beach, shops and restaurants. It is clean, secure and the breakfast was excellent and generous. Lisa was always at hand if we needed anything. A kettle, fridge and microwave in the room enables guests to make drinks and snacks should they wish. Many thanks. Jane & Ray Craig

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your kind thoughts. It really means a lot to us! We hope that you will get to stay for a lot longer next time and then you will get the opportunity to see more of what our beautiful city has to offer! Until then. Best regards, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Sa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent value for money! Clean, spacious room. Bathroom was quite small. Quiet area, private and secure parking. Good breakfast with friendly hosts. Nearby good restaurants and movies. Will def come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for giving us feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your room and your breakfast and really look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The security is good, the rooms are perfect and the hospitality is great, it is very well located, close to the beach, university, shops and entertainment areas. The neighbourhood is very quiet at nigh,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for the great review - we enjoyed looking after your team and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Algua Guesthouse wasperfect! Whenever I will be in PE again, for sure I will book here and nowhere else. Nice clean room and privacy, delicious breakfast and very very friendly owners. I saw a few more hotels and guesthouses in PE but this is for me by far the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to look after you at your brief stay at our guest house. We are so glad the dolphins came into the Bay when you were walking on the beach! Thanks also for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We started off our foray of the Sunshine Coast with a delightful stay at the Algoa Guest House in Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth. What a lovely venue! The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with a kitchenette, lounge area and Satellite TV as well as FREE wi-fi. Our hosts were fabulous and super friendly and took care of all our requirements. It is only a two block meander to the beach. There are plenty of lovely restaurants and other amenities nearby. The pool provided a refreshing cool-off after a day on the beach. Breakfast was a sumptuous affair and the service was excellent. All in all, really good value for money and it certainly exceeded the expectations of a 3 star establishment. Our only disappointment was that we had not booked a longer stay!!! We will definitely be back! Thank you Roger and Lisa for a wonderful sojourn!

Room Tip: The top floor front rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for writing such a great review. It was really wonderful to have you stay with us at Algoa Guest House. We really hope to see you again soon, there is so much more that you need to experience in our wonderful city! Until next time...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Algoa Guesthouse for four nights during December 2012 and had a wonderful stay. Friendly staff, huge cleans comfortable room, great breakfast. We were there over Christmas day and the staff went out of their way to make the morning extra special. Compared to relatives that stayed in the 5 star hotel nearby we had a much better stay and memorable experience. We can recommend Algoa Guesthouse to any body and will defiantly stay there again. Thank you to the staff for a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Manager at Algoa Guest House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It was such a pleasure hosting you guys and we really appreciate it when we get positive feedback. Thanks for the cricket tickets. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Algoa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoa Guest House

Address: 87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algoa Guesthouse is an owner managed 3 star bed and breakfast in Summerstrand Port Elizabeth. If you are here to enjoy all the attractions of our Friendly City or are about to embark on a journey along the beautiful Garden Route, holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy a comfortable stay at this guest house in Port Elizabeth.Algoa B&B offers comfortable, clean and semi self-catering rooms (microwave, bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities) with air conditioners, flat screen TV's with a selection of satellite channels and Free Wi-Fi. Enjoy a healthy or a full English breakfast in the quaint dining- room which overlooks the swimming pool and attractive garden.This child friendly accommodation is only a mere 200 metre stroll to the beachfront of Pollock Beach. Experience the warm waters of Nelson Mandela Bay (Algoa Bay)at one of beaches (Pollock Beach, Hobie Beach or one of our Blue Flag beaches (Humewood Beach & Kings Beach) which is also a popular destination to swim or surf or to go scuba diving with the dolphins at one of the estimated 400 ship wreckages.Algoa Guest House is ideally positioned in Port Elizabeth to act as your base to experience the Eastern Cape. Grahamstown, Sardinia Bay, Jeffreys Bay and Addo Elephant Park are less than an hour's drive away. Alternatively go and explore the rich cultural heritage of our city centre (do the Donkin Trail). Pack your clubs and enjoy a round of golf at the Humewood Links Golf Course which is only 1,5km's away. The North and South Campus of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University is also only 1,5km's away. There are several popular restaurants within a 2 km radius from this Algoa Bay bed and breakfast and the Boardwalk Casino is also just 2km's away.Port Elizabeth Airport is just a 10 minutes' drive from Algoa and airport transfers can be organised on your behalf.Secure off street parking is provided for your vehicle behind remote controlled gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Algoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoa Guest House Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algoa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.