We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor 38

Save Saved
You added Manor 38 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor 38
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter weekend SPECIAL...
Ranked #7 of 36 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“SUPERB.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was without a doubt the highlight of my trip to Port Elizabeth. What a delight it was to arrive at Wendy's beautiful home a couple of minutes away from the beach. My room was superb and after an exhausting busy day, my bead and soft sheets was like heaven on earth.I wished I could have stayed longer and will make a point of going through Port Elizabeth just so that I can stay at this lovely BnB again. the attention to detail was what makes this a fine fine BnB from the sherry and chocolate at night, to the master chef quality breakfast and presentation. Thank you Wendy- yo should be the no1 BnB place in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    37
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
148
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a pity that my wife and I only had a one night stop in the Manor 38.

Everything was just perfect during our short stay. We received a complementary upgrade to a fantastic room which was more like a 5 star suite than a B&B room. Since it was our honeymoon we also received a bottle of champagne with some lovely pralines. Wendy recommend us a really great restaurant to go for dinner and booked us a perfect table at really short notice (see review on Ginger restaurant).

Sadly since we only had a one night stop and had to leave early next morning in order to get our flight, we were not able to use the pool, but it definitely looked really inviting. ;)

We were also not able to have breakfast (we had to get up really early at around 5:30 in the morning), but we were really surprised when Wendy asked us what we want to have for breakfast next morning and if we want our coffee to be brought to our room. We passed, cause this is to early forms to eat, BUT this was a service we would not have expected - simply fantastic!

Next time we are in PE we will definitely come back and stay longer than one night.

Many thanks to Wendy and to the whole team!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Made my booking based on reviews on trip advisor. This is a really fantastic place to stay whether on business or pleasure. Wendy makes you feel right at home. The rooms are spotless and the attention to detail are obvious.
Breakfast was so beautifully presented
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of a two week trip around South Africa, and had arrived after 24 hours travelling from the UK.
Wendy greeted us with fresh tea and cake and couldn't have been friendlier offering suggestions and advice for dinner.
Our room by the pool was perfect, immaculate and well appointed with everything you could need from fresh fruit, mini bar and toiletries.
On return to our room after an evening out we we greeted by a nightcap and chocolate, and slept beautifully.
Breakfast was excellent and all cooked to order.
I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough, thank you Wendy!

Room Tip: The Luxury Suites by the pool are compact but ideal for a short stay. There are also Executive Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently returned from a four week vacation in South Africa and Botswana. We spent the first two weeks on safaris in both countries, then finished traveling the garden route from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. We began the final part of our itinerary with a stay in Port Elizabeth at Manor 38. To call this a luxury guest house is an understatement! We arrived late in the evening due to delayed flights, but the staff waited for us to arrive. They were friendly and very helpful. The accommodations were stunningly nice, the bed was wonderful, the bath and shower were magnificent, everything was very clean, the breakfast was excellent and my wife and I had a spectacular stay. It was like staying at an exclusive spa. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and we actually plan to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Manor 38 for two nights and from the moment we arrived until we left, we were made to feel very welcome. The house is lovely, the breakfast is excellent and the hosts, Wendy and Chris were so friendly and helpful - nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. They "went the extra mile", not only for us, but with the other guests too - making special arrangements for an evening meal for us, arranging a special breakfast for a guest who was celebrating their birthday and in numerous other ways. We highly recommend this guest house and would definitely stay there again should we return to Summerstrand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Staying here was one of the highlights of our holiday .Wendy and Chris were attentive to our every need and made our grandaughter feel very special.The breakfasts are legendary and the rooms luxurious.We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor 38, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.