We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place but maybe a bit overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manor 38

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manor 38 to your Saves list
Manor 38
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really nice place but maybe a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Great rooms and a very professional service. However, we did feel our 1 night stay was overpriced compared to other SA hotels, particularly given breakfast wasn't included

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    40
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
158
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We only stayed here briefly, but can find no cause for complaints whatsoever.
Monya welcomed us very warmly and was helpful with information about the area and where to eat.
Our car was washed and polished while we were resting in the beautiful room.
The house is very nicely designed and decorated and the beds supremely comfortable.
Service was superb throughout our stay including provision of a freshly packed breakfast to take with us as we left very ealy in the morning for a flight from PE airport.
As the aiport is so close I would certinaly recommend Manor 38 as a great place to either start or finish your trip.
The Boardwalk, as mentioned is about 15 - 20 mins walk and the beachfront itself is only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I just want to praise the staff of Manor 38 for an amazing experience of warm Hospitality. To each traveller I invite to come and experiece first class service. Thank you again for you have enriched my journey. I will remember you and always have you as a measurement of excellence in the Hospitality Industry. Thank you
Marelise

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

On our trip along South Africa's eastern coast we made a stop over in Port Elizabeth. The city itself is not worth visiting, but it isn't very ugly or dangerous neither.

You can have a very nice dinner at a reasonable price at Ginger Restaurant, which is about 2 km away. It can be reached easily by car, secure parking spaces available.

The Guesthouse itself could be a sample out of "Better Homes": Tasteful but not very personal. Reception and check-out were friendly but somehow more distant than heartfelt, which was ok with us. Breakfast though was a real treat and absolutely amazing!

The owners obviously are anxious to reach business people with their concept, but as long as they serve breakfast like this holidaymakers should not feel kept off!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Really homely, welcoming feel, with a very relaxed atmosphere. The manageress was very helpful and kind. The guest house has beautiful decor and a great pool area, lovely dining area and stunning rooms. Our stay was short, but we'd definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

After travelling for almost 24h, I, my wife and our children, arrived at Manor 38 in the afternoon. Having read the reviews here, I had quite high expectations and yes they were all met. From the iron gate that opened and made it possible to park our rental securely to our room that was spacious and had an excellent bathroom.
Unfortunately was the children's room not as big and since they are brother and sister, in their early twenties,it felt a bit awkward that they should share bed, even though we had asked for a twin room.
It was raining the day we arrived, so we didn´t have any use of the walking distance to the beach, but on a sunny day it must be a perfect location. Monya the manager, was very friendly and breakfast was a full English breakfast, made to order in a very nice breakfast room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Manor 38 is conveniently just 5 minutes drive from the airport, so it's ideal as a stopping off point at the start or end of a holiday in the Eastern Cape. Decor is modern with taupes and African dark wood: all very pleasant and easily up to the standard of a 4-star hotel. Rooms comes in two types: standard and executive. The standard rooms are on the ground floor with doors opening onto the patio and pool area, so lack privacy. The executive rooms are on the 1st floor and have more space but there's no balcony. WiFi is available, but irritatingly, like so many places in S Africa, one has to purchase access. A nice touch is the turn-down service, which includes chocolates and some port. The bed was king-size and supremely comfortable. Breakfasts were really outstanding with top-notch presentation. The staff were delightful. The only downside was the yappy dog next door.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor 38

Address: 38 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor 38 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Manor 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor 38 Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor 38, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.