We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventerous eating in a cozy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Kelder

De Kelder
Cnr 6th Avenue & Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
+27 41 583 2750
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: De Kelder Restaurant specialises in Seafood Steaks and local Venison.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Adventerous eating in a cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Surprisingly the De Kelder restaurant is one of the only places to serve local wild game in the area. I asked many locals and even the hotel consierge did not know they served game. The appetizer of raw crocodile, springbok, and wild boar was awesome!! The flavors burst into your mouth and I closed my eyes to chew to experience the flavors better. Where else can you get something like this? I followed it up with the triple entree of Kudu, springbok, and crocodile steaks. Crocodile is my new favorite exotic flavored food. The texture and flavor are truly unique. Other locals were amazed you could get that type of food here. The restaurant is cozy (which means could use a deep cleaning and some redecorating), but the food is excellent. Service was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    62
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The ambience, the food, the people, all make this restaurant a truly valuable find in Port Elizabeth. You have to try the crepe suzettes!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingola, Zambia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good food , well prepared and tasty. Flied meat was well done and it went well with potato chips. These were really nicely prepared and comparable to my favorite home dish. It was no surprise that my plate was well cleaned by the end of the meal. Service was good and it was no big deal to go back for a second dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Decent food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Good food and excellent friendly service. The decor is a bit dated but the food delicious and plentiful. We had calamari, fillet and a shared dessert with a nice bottle of pinotage for circa £32. Lovely homemade bread and extensive menu. For us the was very convenient and a good venue for our last meal in SA.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant was right next door to our hotel and we liked it so much the first time, that we made reservations to go back the second night. The lamb chops were absolutely wonderful as were the appetizer prawns. We ordered a lovely Pinotage wine and it was perfect. Our service was a little sketchy the first night since the waiter was new but our server the second night was first rate.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Kelder also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to De Kelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Kelder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.