We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and extremely welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Second Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6019, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and extremely welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

I was booked at the Beachwalk during a 2 business trip in South Africa. Because of my itinerary during my trip (which consisted of multiple flights in and out of different cities along the eastern part of South Africa, Beachwalk was a welcoming place to come "home" to after a long grueling day of work and travel. The staff are simply wonderful and very
accomodating. I stayed here on recommendation from a work colleague who hd previously stayed at the Beachwalk. My trip started off at 2 different B&B's in PE which were equally nice yet very farm from the boardwalk or the beach so in terms of location you can't get any better than Beachwalk.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    38
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
102
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This is the only bed and breakfast I have booked where they have phoned you on the day to check your arrival time and to make sure you knew how to find it.
When we arrived the welcome was just as warm and we were shown to our luxurious rooms, that were very well laid out and extremely clean.
It is close to the beach and near a handy shopping mall, the boardwalk, with some nice places to eat.
The breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We arrived in Port Elizabeth 31st March 2009 after a long battered journey from the UK. We arrived at Beachwalk unhappy and tired as the airline had lost our bikes. Not much good when you have travelled half way round the World for a competition. Nonetheless, Cliff, Lea and there staff quickly took control of the situation and hounded the Airline company on our behalf until the arrival of the lost items.
The room was quickly prepared and immaculate throughout our two week stay. We were in PE to compete in the South African Ironman triathlon. Our whole experience was made even greater by the staff who totally catered for ours, and other athletes needs. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, almost as good as mum's (sorry Lea cant say it was better in case she reads this). The breakfasts were to die for and have been sadly missed since we returned home.
The location was perfect for us, ie less than 400m from the Ocean. Yes it is a quiet place PE, but we found more than enough to occupy our time. We were sad to leave and sad to leave our B&B. It has to go down as one of our top holidays. As Arnie said "We will be back" hopefully for Ironman 2010 April.
God bless you all, fantastic experience

Gary n Di

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Beachwalk bed and breakfast is truly a home away from home. Upon arrival you are welcomed by the owners of the guesthouse and immediately made to feel part of their family. The rooms are spacious with TV, DSTV, A well stocked bar fridge, Internet access and decor that is stunningly subtle. This bed and breakfast is situated within walking distance of the Boardwalk Casino Centre which enabled us to enjoy a sunset walk to dinner. Breakfast is served in the main diningroom of the house and is served by the owners, this was fantastic as we could learn more about Port Elizabeth and interesting places to visit from them. The breakfast comprises of continental and a full english breakfast with mushrooms that are to die for - unfortunately the secret recipe is not divulged by the lady of the house! Thank you for the custard buns and muffins served with freshly brewed coffee - a great reminder of home!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in March 2009.

The room was spacious - with a minibar, teakitchen and television. (no safe....)

Nice garden and pool-area. And a perfect setting - the B&B is within walkingdistance to the shops, restaurants and beaches of Summerstrand/Port Elizabeth.

The staff was very friendly and actually they were the reason we went on a daytrip-safari arranged by Scothia Game Reserve - one of the highlights of our vacation.

The breakfast vas okey, but it was less tempting than the ones we were offered on the other B&Bs we stayed at. Mainly because the fruit was not fresh (canned fruidt), the juice was not freshly squeezed, but the type you buy in a supermarket - and the same with the bread. Whilst the other B&Bs baked their bread or bought it in bakeries, the Beachwalk served only supermaketbread. No big deal, but when comparing with the other experiences along the Garden Route, it is difficult not to mention it.

All in all this is a good value B&B placed in a very boring and "touristic" town. The town mainly consist of roads, shoppingmalls and fastfoodchains.

Next time we go to this area, we will definetly stay in a B&B closer to the Addo National Park (or maybe a private game reserve if we can affofrd it)- thats where you will find the great experiences!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

The spacious room and well appointed bathroom was placed around a lovely garden, pool and braai area. The breakfasts were very good and the staff were friendly and helpful - their suggestion for a day safari was one of the highlights of our holiday. We were within safe walking distance of the beach and Boardwalk complex and it was reassuring to know that the car was secure behind locked gates at all times.

  • Liked — The helpful friendliness of the staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

What a lovely find! Beachwalk B&B is a four star, privately run B&B. All rooms are seperate to the main house and all overlook a lovely pool and braai area with seperate patio areas and entrances to rooms. The rooms and quite spacious for a B&B. The beds are extremly comfortable. There is DSTV (satellite), DVD, powerful shower, hair dryer, safe and a delicious breakfast in the morning.
The B&B has private parking secured by an electric gate. You can see the sea from the front of the house/car park. It is in walking distance to the beach and Boardwalk casino and it is safe to do so as long as it's before 10.00 pm - in fact, the receptionist laughed at me when I asked if it was safe. We felt very safe there, even when walking home at dusk.
The staff are the friendliest we met - the receptionist is so helpful.
I would definitley stay here again and recommend it to anyone staying in PE.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and receptionist
  • Disliked — The breakfast - it is soooo good we ate too much!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6019, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast in Port Elizabeth, offers 4-star accommodation in Port Elizabeth, only 60metres from popular beaches and close to the Boardwalk Casino, Entertainment and Restaurant complex. A selection of fine restaurants and shopping centre are in walking distance with a championship golf course nearby and close to the airport, only 10 minutes away. This heritage building, one of the original guesthouses in Port Elizabeth, has been stylishly renovated providing beautifully appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, private entrances & covered patios in a peaceful secluded garden with pool. All rooms with microwave, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi, DSTV and the finest percale linen. A delicious full English and Continental breakfast is served in our dining room. Our personal welcome awaits you, ensuring a most pleasant and comfortable stay at Beachwalk! *Airport transfers *Secure on-site parking *Laundry service *Credit card facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachwalk Bed And Breakfast Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.