We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in PE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Second Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6019, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Summerstrand B&B and Inns
Solothurn, Switzerland
1 review
“Great place to stay in PE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Dear Cliff & Friends, Thank you so much for your great hospitality! The room is lovely & the breakfast was excellent. We felt like home & will definitely come back to this charming place.
Thanks for everything & all the best for the future!
Franziska & Victor
Solothum, Switzerland
Ps. Alida, you will see us on the cherry tree in Zug…..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello Franziska & Victor
Great to hear from you and know that you enjoyed your time with us at Beachwalk, especially our breakfast as we pride ourselves on having one of the best breakfasts in Port Elizabeth .... now you know why my middle is a bit larger than it should be! Making people like you feel at home is just the easiest thing in the world to do.
Please be sure to visit us again, we'd love to have you back.
Best wishes
Cliff Lea & Alida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    38
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
100
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were made very welcome. Room was spacious and comfortable. All amenities were within walking distance of the Bed+Breakfast. Breakfast was hearty and nutritious. Hosts had lots of useful information for us about travelling the garden route

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, wir freuen uns, dass Sie Beachwalk genossen und würde wieder hier übernachten. Wir meinen jedoch, dass Sie Port Elizabeth ungerecht beurteilt haben - Sie kam am späten Nachmittag und am nächsten Morgen verlassen, so dass Sie kaum Zeit hatte, erleben Sie die verschiedenen Attraktionen und Aktivitäten, die Port Elizabeth zu bieten hat.
Bitte besuchen Sie uns wieder, aber verbringen Sie mehr Zeit und wir sind sicher, dass Sie Ihre Meinung ändern werden!
Alles Gute
Cliff & Lea
Bitte entschuldigen Sie die Grammatik, ich benutze einen automatischen Übersetzer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for the last night of our wonderful holiday in South Africa having driven along the beautiful and unforgettable Garden Route. Clifford the owner and his wife Lea gave us such a warm welcome and we loved Clifford's sense of humour ! The location of the Beachwalk is ideal. You can walk to the shops and restaurants in the Boardwalk Mall and the promendade along the beach front is only a few minutes walk away. Also it is set back from the main road which means you don't get any traffic noise. Clifford recommended a fantastic restaurant for us - the Ginger - for a special dinner for the last night of our holiday. What a dining experience ! As we found out during our whole holiday in South Africa the restaurant prices for both food and drink are such terrific value compared to the U.K. and the Ginger was no exception. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast the following morning served by Alida who is a real character ! Will definitely stay here again if we are back in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello to our Scottish friends ...... did you watch the rugby match on Sunday .... ah, well, maybe you can beat the Springboks next time!
Seriously though, we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Beachwalk. The fact that you enjoyed my sense of humour worries me - didn't know there were other odd bods like me out there!
Must admit, having just returned from a trip through Eurpoe & Russia, us South Africans tend to forget just how good we have it here - what a pleasure to get back to a good 350g rump steak, chips & veggies for less than 7 pounds!
Don't know if your travels will bring you back to this part of the world but if they do, please be sure to look us up, you're always welcome.
In the meantime, keep on travelling and laughing - it's definitely the best medicine!
Best wishes
Cliff & Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Travelled to PE for business. Location is great and a stones throw from the beach. The rooms are lovely and the added amenities are great. What made the stay more enjoyable was the super friendly and welcoming staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffordH, Owner at Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello Laila
Thank you for your great review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - we will be more than happy to have you back ...... just don't wait too long, the beach is waiting for you!
Kind regards
Cliff & Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at Beachwalk twice this year and can safely say we will never bother staying anywhere else in PE! Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, a fully stocked fridge, DSTV, free Wi-Fi and a delicious breakfast are just some of the reasons we will continue to stay here. In a great location close to the beach and Boardwalk Casino Complex with restaurants, bars, shops and a cinema. Above all the hosts (especially Alida who we have got to know the best) could not do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable, and always reccommend great restaurants! Thankyou Alida for always going the extra mile. We look forward to returning next year to see the refurbished rooms!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived at 815 pm to meet the friendly manager who welcomed us warmly. She gave us 3 restaurant recommendations - all were spot on.

The b&b is run by a delightful couple who are well informed and hospitable.

The herb they use in the mushrooms at breakfast was fantastic - tasted super.

Well located and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagersville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited for one night in February 2012. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. My luggage didn't follow me from Joburg, and they provided me with whatever I needed to make my stay enjoyable and stress free. I am hoping to head back to Shamwari Conservation Experience in January 2014, and have already added a one night stay at Beachwalk to my itinerary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6019, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast in Port Elizabeth, offers 4-star accommodation in Port Elizabeth, only 60metres from popular beaches and close to the Boardwalk Casino, Entertainment and Restaurant complex. A selection of fine restaurants and shopping centre are in walking distance with a championship golf course nearby and close to the airport, only 10 minutes away. This heritage building, one of the original guesthouses in Port Elizabeth, has been stylishly renovated providing beautifully appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, private entrances & covered patios in a peaceful secluded garden with pool. All rooms with microwave, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi, DSTV and the finest percale linen. A delicious full English and Continental breakfast is served in our dining room. Our personal welcome awaits you, ensuring a most pleasant and comfortable stay at Beachwalk! *Airport transfers *Secure on-site parking *Laundry service *Credit card facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachwalk Bed And Breakfast Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.