We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An African themed oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Singa Lodge to your Saves list
Singa Lodge
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Corner of 10th Avenue & Scarborough Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Summerstrand
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An African themed oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was the fifth of our six stops from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth. We had a wonderful welcome from Michael who was very attentive and helpful - including making recommendations and our dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant.

Our room was amazingly large with bath and separate shower area to one side. It was unusual but worked well. It took a few mins to work out how to lower all of the reed blinds as there were so many windows but our room was not overlooked. Loved the location of sep rooms in diff parts of the gardens. We slept well during our overnight stop although the AC unit was directly above our bed.

The mini bar works on an honesty basis and it was nice to find loads of plug sockets in the room including one English one!

In the morning we enjoyed the visual delights of this African themed guest house. Also had a great chat with Michael and with the manager, Desiree, who also provided a great suggestion re a coffee stop on our way to the game reserve which was to be our final stop.


We thought the website provides a fair representation of the venue and were surprised by some of the negative reviews here. Sure there are some oddities at Simga but we had a very positive experience and the staff showed that they will do whatever they can to make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: Each room is reached by a walk through the garden. We had number one which is not overlooked but doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review. We hope you had a wonderful time on holiday and enjoyed all the experiences you were recommended in between, which really make your whole trip worth while. Desiree and Michael will be grateful for your kind words. We also hope you didn't experience any discomfort as a result of the A/C being above your bed. We thought this to be the most suitable position in the room to place it, for when people would like to relax in the heat of our African summer. We really liked that you added your room tip with other TripAdvisor viewers- the gardens do help to create a feeling of privacy and seclusion and room 1's blinds do justice of this as well. We hope to welcome you back to Singa soon. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Singa Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
37
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having looked at singa lodge on their webiste we were execting more from our stay. Room was round the back so felt separate to rest of lodge, also the room seemed tired and strangely decorated! Staff were pleasant and breakfast was ok, hot food made to order. Provided free garage parking space which was good. Didn't have any of the 5 star facilities you expect. Bed hard and really squeaky. Safe didnt work. Our room was listed as a suite yet was just a room with the shower and bath in it and a separate tiny room with the toilet ... Expect suites to have a separate seated area as well. Received bottle of sparkling wine and croissants on arrival for our honeymoon which was nice. Was our first night and the rest of our trip improved immensely which was fantastic. Would recommend for a quick stopover but not for romance or luxury. Would pick an alternative hotel if returning to Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very important to us, especially where you feel we need to improve. Thank you for taking note of some of the great things about Singa too, even though you your experience was not what you expected. The suites at Singa were designed as open and free-flowing, with the intentional breakdown of structure to reflect a more modern and interconnected feeling. We will be adding this information to our website for people who expect a separate seated area. We're very sorry that your experience was not what you had hoped for, we trust the rest of your stay in South Africa was memorable and that you had an incredible honeymoon. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Singa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We finished our South African tour at Singa lodge and were welcomed by the professional and friendly staff there. We found the room beautiful, clean and fresh. Helpful staff, we definately recommend this place.
Aussies on tour.

Room Tip: we had room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Always great to get the Aussie badge of approval. We hope you had a wonderful tour and that the rest of your time in South Africa was memorable. We hope you are planning another trip soon. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Singa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Charming place in a great location a short walk from the beach. We got great service from the male receptionist that helped to arrange a last minute (highly recommendable) township tour. The breakfast buffet and the service there was not up to standard.
Biggest problem: The beds are very hard and noisy (enough to wake the other person if you turn during the night).
Not quite the five star guest lodge experience to be found elsewhere in SA.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Dark, strange smell, no privacy, old structure, humid, old towels and forniture. Photos from the website are unrealistic. The only positive comment is fore the guys at the reception. Very kind and helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we sadly stayed there booked for four nights but went off after three nights because there was no internet and the "pool " was in a really bad condition like everything else. Nobody tooks care about the garden and the soroundings.
The breakfast was like in a 1 star hotel and so the dining, forget all whats the website is saying. You will not even see the Lady who is the Manager, she goes hiding in the kittchen when there are too many people what looks like work.
We have been very disapointed and never had a poorer lodge with this value. After this we stayed in Port Alfred in the beach House which you connot compare by anything, it whas cheaper and worth all the money.

Room Tip: forget this lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at Singa Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Singa Lodge, your feedback really helps us to see where we need more direction and improvement for all our guests to enjoy their time spent with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as well as you would have liked and will be taking a lot of time and effort to ensure this won't happen again. We will be having a maintenance meeting to discuss the problems you have raised about the gardens and the pool and the surrounding areas. We are also working very hard to improve our Internet and really do appreciate that you have let us know of your frustrations. We are now able to address the things that made you unhappy. We have drawn the attention of all our staff to this review and expect to see a dramatic improvement in interacting with guests to find out their concerns. We hope you will reconsider visiting us in the future to see the improvement. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Singa Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Wish we stayed longer!!! Been to Durban, hluhluwe, jberg so far and this was the best by far in regards to service friendliness the room was perfect. Giving us privacy and room to relax. We had room 1 which was very spacious. The lodge is a wonderful place and reay make life easy for you. I was concern going to p.e in general as a few people had there wasn't much to do their but we loved it. The board walk and casino has loads of bars and restaurants. We spent Christmas Day here and everything was open. Highly recommend signa and port Elizabeth

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Singa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singa Lodge

Address: Corner of 10th Avenue & Scarborough Road, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Summerstrand
#4 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Singa Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel in PE is one of a select portfolio of lodges brought to you by Lion Roars Hotels and Lodges, and offers distinctive 5-star accommodation in Summerstrand in Port Elizabeth. Setting itself apart from the "every-room-looks-the-same" standardization of the major hotel chains, Singa's modern fusion of Eastern & African architecture and decor is an artistic masterpiece. Each of the twelve suites is a unique space that not only provides deep comfort, but also inspires and enriches your journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Singa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singa Lodge Port Elizabeth/Summerstrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.