We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a great little village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House

Save Saved
You added Manor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Manor House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   69 Maple Ave., Norfolk, CT 06058   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Rates $120.00 - $255.00
Ranked #2 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a great little village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's a lovely house with big rooms and comfy beds. There are nice communal areas to lounge about in, including a range of hot drinks and snacks included. As with a lot of B&Bs there wasn't a choice at breakfast but it was lovely and we got different things on both days. Norfolk is a great base for New England. It's close to a lot of key tourist spots in the area, however the village is less touristy but has great charm. The library is worth a visit and the bar was great too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I spent the weekend with my husband at the Manor House. Chef Kurt and Kathy are the Innkeepers there and they are so welcoming, right from when Kathy opened the front door we knew we had found our home away from home. They both took us on a tour of their home, that they love, they were happy to share their home and it's history with us. They are wonderful and made us feel so happy to be there. My husband didn't really want to go to a B&B "again" but his mind changed right from the start. Let me tell you the house is a mansion, it is BIG but it is the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Manor House is conveniently located (walking distance) to the small town and really close to everything you could want. The breakfasts are to die for! And the cookies are the best; Kurt even offered us wine with a choice of red or white, not a glass but a whole bottle plus he made us a pepperoni, crackers and cheese tray! We were honored when he came out at breakfast and he spoke with every guest and was in his "Chef" wear. Kathy booked our dinner at a local restaurant, that I couldn't get reservations at. There is a 24/7 coffee room with everything you could want from coffee, tea, cocoa and mulled cider, a refrig. microwave, ice machine and a water cooler with fresh cold spring water. Our room was unbelievably big with a hot top and gas fire place, bed comfortable and again sparkling ckean. Thank you, again, Kurt & Kathy for a perfect stay. We will be back to visit you. I can't wait to see what breakfast Chef Kurt comes up with on our next stay. Let me tell you this is one place you do not want to miss staying at.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed big and wonderful. Ours was on the 3rd floor with hot tub, big comfortable king b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The house is old but very nice. The room was nice with a very large whirlpool bath. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was quite good. The inn keepers were really nice and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this unusual intricately designed and built Victorian Tudor home for 2 days after the huge nor'easter, and it was the perfect relaxing getaway. The common rooms are outstanding, with charming comfortable couches, a vast working fireplace, amazing library, and snacks room where various drink components are available at all times. Light streamed into every room, glancing off the polished wood beams and paneling. Soft lighting compliments the decor, as you curl up under a throw reading a book or playing a board game. The dining area is beautifully appointed with individual couples tables. The breakfast was sublime! Amazing granola concoction just as a starter, with a french toast out of this world. Our room on the third floor was incredibly spacious, immaculate, with a fantastic jacuzzi tub. Views from our window were lovely. The entire historical building is almost like being in a fairy tale house, with window seats on one floor, hidden stairs behind a door, and a hilarious spooky touch, when upon opening the door to the old elevator, Halloween figures almost pop out!
Our innkeepers were perfect! Friendly, accommodating, and fun. I am so happy we chose to stay here, it was a much needed stress reliever and we thank our hosts for allowing us to become Lord and Lady of the Manor for a couple of days!

Room Tip: The Victorian room is large with a huge bed and fantastic jacuzzi. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years back but it was wonderful! The home is gorgeous and in wonderful condition and we got breakfast in bed which was a real treat one morning! The food was outstanding and the inn keepers awesome! Would highly recommend this inn for some quiet, relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!!

Room Tip: The Victorian room has both the fireplace and jacuzzi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great hidden treasure in Northwest Connecticut! Our experience is one we will remember for a long time...the Inn is spectacular with so many lovely rooms. We stayed in the Victorian room..very comfortable and clean. The fireplace and whirlpool tub were great additions to this room. The Innkeepers, Kathy and Kurt were very friendly and informative on the history of this beautiful Inn preserved through time. They made us feel very welcome and served us with grace and class and Kurt prepared us a delicious and elegant breakfast. Yummy! We enjoyed meeting Kathy and Kurt which added to our wonderful experience. We will definately be back!

Sharon and Mark

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Manor House for 2 nights. The house is absolutely beautiful and very spacious. The innkeepers were very friendly and told us to make ourselves at home. We stayed in the English room and really liked the room (especially the hot tub). The breakfast was amazing both mornings that we were there. There were many books in the different sitting rooms on the first floor of the house along with a keurig that you could use to brew different teas, coffees, or hot chocolates. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House

Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel Norfolk
Address: 69 Maple Ave., Norfolk, CT 06058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor house is an ideal accommodation in Norfolk, CT, offering one of the most romantic getaways in New England. Full of charming ambiance and convenient amenities, The Manor House is complete with beautiful garden views in every room, a delicious hot breakfast served every morning and nine unique rooms to choose from - all with their own baths. Enjoy your next New England vacation as the guests of this wonderful Connecticut bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.