We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
“Warm welcome...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our first stay at the Mountain View Inn but it certainly won't be our last! My husband and I had traveled with friends to the beautiful north western corner of CT for a show at the Infinity Music Hall. Our friends had stayed here before and couldn't say enough nice things about the innkeepers. Well, once we arrived we completely understood why they were raving about this B&B.
Dean and Jean Marie were warm, welcoming, and made us feel at home straight away. The inn is decorated with Victorian elegance which is at once picture perfect but also comfortable and inviting. Our stay was wonderful. Mrs. Mead's room has a lovely little sitting area, full bath, and a bed so comfortable I could have lounged for hours. That is if breakfast were not calling my name! The food was excellent. Fresh ingredients that were delicious and beautifully presented.
We were lucky to have had gorgeous weather and so could enjoy the terrace on the afternoon of our arrival. It led me to thinking what it would be like with the snow flying, looking out while sitting snug and warm near the fire inside… we will definitely be back to enjoy the change of seasons at this gem of an inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
115
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Mountain View Inn this past weekend and needless to say it was as good as ever. My wife and I traveled with friends to see Roger McGuinn at Infinity Hall Theatre, just a short walk from the inn. In innkeepers Dean, Jean-Marie and Miss Noelle were as accommodating as ever and it's like visiting family now as we have stayed there numerous times. I cannot recommend the Mountain View highly enough. It's a great place to go and relax or take in a few of the area wineries as we did this trip. We usually like to wrap a concert at Infinity Hall as part of our visit. My wife and I have stayed at the Mountain View Inn at all times of the year and no matter if its snowing and you are sitting next to a roaring fire in the great room or enjoying a nice summer breeze on the front porch or patio in the back, it's a great place to be. The Mountain View also attracts a nice quality of guests and we have had many interesting conversations along the way! Even when the inn is full you feel like you are the only people there. Very spacious. Breakfast is top notch! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Mountain View Inn. We were warmly greeted by Dean and Jean Marie (our human hosts) and Noelle (our sweet canine hostess) and made to feel very much at home. We stayed in Felix's room (#6) which was beautifully appointed, immaculate and filled with many thoughtful touches such as interesting reading materials and chocolate kisses! The mattress and the linens were super comfortable and we slept very soundly. As others have mentioned, the Infinity Bistro and Music Hall are just a short walk from the Inn and we appreciated that we did not need to use our car to enjoy dinner and a concert. Breakfast was very well done, delicious, nutritious and elegantly presented. We highly recommend this top notch establishment!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I just spent our 30th wedding anniversary at the Mountain Inn in Norfolk, CT, in northwest Connecticut (CT), about three hours from NYC. It could not have been better. The inn sits up on a rise in this pleasant New England town, with a lovely stone patio and porches. Inside is like a work of art: antique Victorian furniture throughout, lovely coffee table books about the surrounding area including the Litchfield Hills to the south and the Berkshires to the north, topped off by owner & artist Dean Johnson's stunning oversized "large flower" oil paintings (also available in giclee). Breakfast was marvelous, and every afternoon we came back to pomegranate juice & cookies (the juice replaced by port at night). Like everything else at the Inn, a great touch. Norfolk the town is a gem: the summer home to Yale's art & music departments, it also boasts "Infinity Hall", a renovated vaudeville theatre cum bistro that now books music groups all summer long, and a terrific 19th century public library (worth just seeing). Practically just across the street is the Battell Chapel, with its original Tiffany windows. Lots of nice hikes all around, too (as others mentioned, Haystack Mt. and Campbell Falls state parks are within a 5-20 minute drive of the inn). Back to the inn itself: items that are important to us: it is exceptionally clean, the beds are firm (with fine linens), and there was no street or other noise at night. Dean and his wife Jean Marie are pros when it comes to B&B hospitality. All in all, a wonderful inn in the country!

Room Tip: All the rooms have A/C. We stayed in "Erastus' Room" (Rm. 2). Room 4 ("Jenny'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our recent two night stay at the Mountain View Inn. The innkeepers were very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The breakfasts were very tasty and included fresh fruits and homemade rosemary potatoes and quiches. The furnishings were beautiful and it was interesting to read the histories of the various rooms. The outside front porch encouraged sunny lounging and reading although our weekend was too busy to do much of that! I would heartily recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is one of the best bed and breakfast I have stayed at. The owner Dean Johnson goes out of his way to make sure your every need is met. The attention to detail is extraordinary. The place is beautifully decorated with antiques and has a Victorian flare. Dean's artwork is tastefully displayed throughout the inn. While there, don't forget to pet Noelle the house "guard" dog! She is precious and loves to have you pet her and nuzzle her. She will even curl up on one of the many couches with you. She just eats the attention up!!! Dean fixed us a delicious breakfast in the morning with a rice pudding for a starter that was to die for!!

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Graceful and elegant bed and breakfast, with most delightful hosts, would give anyone a great weekend getaway. The Inn is decorated with antiques and beautiful paintings. The innkeeper is an artist and you can enjoy some of his art work on display. Norfolk is a cute small town, but has much to offer. There are several state parks close to the Inn including Campbell Falls and Haystack Mountain hiking trails. Yale summer music school conducts concerts and performances in summer. Plus Infinity music hall on top of Infinity bistro has concerts on the weekends. We stayed over the weekend and enjoyed our time very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.