We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Inn
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This delightful bed and breakfast is in the heart of beautiful Norfolk, CT. Hosted by a wonderfully thoughtful and hospitable couple, Mountain View is a lovely, warm home. Each guest room is historically and beautifully appointed. The dining room and sitting rooms are most comfortable, but my favorite place is the wicker-furnished porch, a wonderful place to read and sip your tea. Norfolk and this part of Litchfield County is a wonderful day trip, filled with antique shops, galleries, the fabulous Norfolk Library, and great food/wine spots. Spend the night and you have the opportunity to hear great music at Infinity Theatre, walking distance from the Inn. The place is very clean and private. Love it!

Room Tip: One room has a lovely sleeping porch...and there's a room that has a tiny sitting room next to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    13
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
118
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain View Inn for a weekend. The innkeepers Dean and Jean Marie were gracious hosts and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The decor of the inn is very charming and the breakfasts were very good. In addition Norfolk, CT where the inn is located is a beautiful and quaint New England town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you're looking for nice get-away that will offer you some peacefulness and a sense of serenity, then you must go to Norfolk, CT and stay at the beautiful Mountain View Inn. Hosts Jean Marie, Dean and their little Noelle instantly made you feel welcomed. The rooms are cozy and clean with a lovely interior decor that echoes throughout the entire house. Although covered with snow, the view overlooking the back patio and stonewall was magnificent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I spent our 1st Anniversary at the Mountain View Inn with Dean & Jean Marie - the very gracious hosts. We went to a show at the Infinity Music Hall and stayed over night to begin our 1st Anniversary there. Everything was absolutely perfect - from the ambiance in our room to the most delicious breakfast in the morning. This B & B is just as it looks in photographs - magnificent and comfortable - warm & beautiful! We give it 5 starts + and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I had tickets to the Infinity music hall and did not want to drive home after the event. We chose the Inn based on reviews and were happy that we did. The Inn keepers Dean & Jean Marie are the perfect host.Their dog Noel is the perfect lady adding to the house's charm and warmth, making you feel right at home. We enjoyed chatting with them and meeting them. The Inn is charming, beautifully decorated and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower & water pressure were perfect. It was such an unexpected surprise to purchase a beautiful jacket at the Gilded Peacock which carries beautiful vintage pieces at very affordable prices.We can't wait to return to see the inn in different seasons. The location is breathtaking and we can't wait to enjoy the beautiful patio and porches. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Mrs Meads room is one of the smaller rooms however very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Mountain View Inn. Dean and Jean Marie are wonderful hosts. They made us feel right at home. The bed was very comfortable and the house is like a living museum. There is a lovely vintage clothing and jewelry gift shop. I had so much fun trying on clothes and bought a great handbag and necklace. The inn is the perfect location if you see a performance at Infinity Music Hall or to explore northern Connecticut and the Berkshires. Breakfast was a feast of beautiful fruits, eggs, meats and cakes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I have been to Mountain View Inn several times and every time we go we hate to leave! The Inn is perfect and I get to spend some quality time with Miss Noelle (Dean and Jean Marie's poodle) We have brought our daughter and other family and friends to this treasure. Dean and Jean Marie make us feel very special. We have stayed in several different rooms and they have all been amazing. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoy the porches and peace and quiet. We also get to enjoy a great breakfast in the morning in this pristine, beautiful place!!! We look for shows at Infinity Hall and make sure Mountain View is available because there is no place else we would rather be!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 67 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, CT
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norfolk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Inn is an elegantly-restored Victorian Country house located in the center of your Litchfield Hills and Berkshires activities. Enjoy your perfect getaway by taking a short walk to the newly-restored Infinity Hall of Music and Infinity Bistro for fine dining and a popular music concert. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.