We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Seafood Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse

Seahorse
65 Marsh Rd, Noank, CT 06340
860-415-4280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Noank
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Groton, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Local Seafood Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Seahorse is a little off the beaten path but worth the trouble of finding it. It's quite local so both the bar and restaurant will be filled with local folks. The food is very good and it's a comfortable place to spend an evening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good grub after a long day on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The Seahorse isn't the "best" but it sure is one of the best bangs for buck in a pricey shore area. My go-to's are always the lobster grilled cheese, a hot lobster roll, and the New England clam chowder. If there was a "seafood diner" the Seahorse would be ranked with some of the best New Jersey diners. Even the coleslaw is great. It's just good quality seafood done comfort style and hits the spot after a long day on the water. One thing I always notice is that they never skimp on the lobster meat in the rolls and grilled cheese. The last time I was there, there had to have been 4 claws at least in my grilled cheese along with more meat, and almost 8 claws in my uncle's roll. They pack it in, and it's totally worth every penny - which is still a bargain compared to some of the other seafood spots along the Mystic shore area.

*Note: don't bother waiting for a table in the main room. If 5 or less, check out the bar first for first come first serve table and counter seating.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“not like it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

the magic cuisine of the former owner/chef is gone and what's left is an adequate restaurant, nothing special, with OK service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Swordfish special was out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Who would have thought to put guacamole and sour cream on perfectly grilled swordfish? It was so good that my husband ended up eating more of my meal than I did. Served with country whipped potatoes and corn, it was a perfect dinner. Another family member always orders the baked scallops, and always wants to come back for more. She won't even consider anything else. Always filled with locals, good food, good prices, good friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, CT
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Follow the Locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The menu is simple, featuring great local seafood, the service friendly and the prices very reasonable. If you are vacationing in the area, sit at the bar and get lots of tips on what to see and do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seahorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.