We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy camper” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilltop Inn to your Saves list
Hilltop Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 Flanders Rd, Niantic, CT 06357   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Niantic
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a happy camper”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Went there because it was the closest hotel with vacancy to Mohegan sun for this specific weekend. Right off the bat I was charged extra money because there was 3 people staying instead of two (bulls*** charge) because the room is clearly already paid for, shouldn't matter if one more person sleeps in the room. But I paid, went up to my room and went to use the bathroom, there was pee all over the toilet seat and the toilet was FILTHY. As was the bathtub and ice bucket. It also smelled like moth balls so I sprayed my perfume. When I tried to call the front desk about it they didn't answer, I went to my car and got Lysol wipes and cleaned the room myself. Later that night when we got back we discovered that the bed frame was falling apart after my friend hurt her leg walking into the metal piece sticking out. There was also tootsie rolls and what looked like champagne corks under the bed. So basically, it was disgusting, overpriced, unsanitary, and has potential for rodents and cockroaches with food being under the bed. I will never stay there again I would rather sleep in a cardboard box.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Front Office Manager at Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Please be assured that this misfortune is an isolated incident, as our goal is to provide every guest with a totally positive stay with us.
We hope this incidence will not discourage you from using the Hilltop Inn® in the future. We realize that you make a decision each time you select the hotel that you will stay with. We want very much to show you that the decision you make will continue to be the correct one.
Please accept my sincere apology and if you have informed the desk they must have resolved whatever issue you had at the of incident. Also there is a expenses involved for extra person for uses that is the reason we charge $15 extra as whatever you paid for was only for 2 person.
Please be assured that your concerns will be dealt within a timely and professional fashion.
We thank you for bringing this to our attention and will utilize your feedback to improve our efficiency and guest service in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Mike
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    11
    7
    25
See reviews for
11
16
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am staying here now while working at Millstone. Rooms are clean and they are updating the rooms right now. The staff is very nice and helpful. It's a quiet place and close to everything. Close to shopping and beaches. The only thing they don't have that is advertised on their sign would be the hot breakfast. They do offer coffee, juices, cold cereals, bagels, and instant oatmeal. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: No elevator to 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We've been staying at the Hilltop Inn several times a year for the past 5 years and have found it the best buy in SE CT. It's an older property but is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and eager to help in any way that the can. The night staff is excellent and appears to be on call in case of a problem. We certainly will be back.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoy going to Hilltop Inn because it's close to Rocky Neck beach and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are quiet and have a dorm size refrigerator and microwave which come in handy. The price is reasonable, The pool was nice and there are picnic tables with umbrellas. We ate in the breakfast nook and saved time from going out to a restaurant every morn. We hope to go back again next year, I recommend it to my friends.

Evelyn

Room Tip: First floor, corridor on the left, rooms on the right are facing the pool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were a little apprehensive in staying here after reading the other reviews, but we're glad we did! After a long days drive up the coast all we wanted was a good nights sleep, which we got. The desk clerk was quick and friendly, the room was clean and quiet, and we didn't break the bank staying there. Success....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you prefer a moderately updated hotel this is not the place for you. Carpets are dingy. Don't let the breakfast offer fool you. Dunkin donuts would be more tasty with better juice and coffee. not worth more than 7o per night...halls smelled musty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a good choice this hotel was.The Hilltop inn is located a couple of Miles from the beach. It’s very quiet with large rooms and beds providing a rather aristocratic feel.I would surely stay a couple of days more but some urgency. i will definitely recommend my friends for this stopover.its totally worth it..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 239 Flanders Rd, Niantic, CT 06357
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Niantic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Niantic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 90 room Hilltop Inn is an ideal location for Mohegan Sun Casino guests, Camp Rell, Millstone, wedding groups, Mystic attraction guests, US coast guard academy, Pfizer, Foxwoods Resort guestd, beaches, Newport, Niantic visitors, East Lyme visitors, US Sub base and tours. Enjoy hot waffle breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Niantic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.