We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family Pizza Restaurant

Family Pizza Restaurant
233 Main St, Niantic, CT 06357-3101
860-739-0466
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 40 Restaurants in Niantic
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
New Britain, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Delicious food, great service and nice setting. They make you feel like family. This is a place you HAVE TO try!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niantic, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I get either pizza or grinders from Family Pizza at least once a week and we are always quite happy with our choices. We get a pizza with meatball, onions and peppers and it is soooo very tasty and filling. I have had many kinds of grinders there and am never disappointed. The owners are great people and the staff has been wonderful. I just know I will be ordering from them again one of these evenings! :-)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Much better options in Niantic.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I gave Family a try a few times and just couldn't find anything I liked. They use a weird tasting sauce in their pizza, I guess I would describe it as too sweet but I'm not really sure. Tried a couple grinders and both were greasy and soggy. Even the fries they use aren't very good. I'm not a hot dog fan so their claim of having the "world's longest hot dog" doesn't impress me. Ray's and Village Pizza are much better local options.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cardboard Pizza.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

It's just awful. And the pizza is the worst. nuff said.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Asolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were on our way home from Sailfest & decided to stop here for dinner...glad we did. My salad was fresh, my son (who is a picky eater) loved his ziti & meatball, my husband devoured his spaghetti & meatballs & my daughter & I really enjoyed our pizza.

**our waitress was a doll & when she was with another patron another waitress came over & asked if we needed anything. Very friendly!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Pizza Restaurant also viewed

 
Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 

Been to Family Pizza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Pizza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.