We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eclectic Chef - CLOSED

Eclectic Chef
281 Main Street, Niantic, CT 06357
(860) 739-3960
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
North Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

went there once, it was not bad
had a wrap with a tad too much bleu cheese for me and my wife
but the ingredients are good
i would go there again someday to try more
very small place

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Before we even stepped into the joint, a stranger who was outside the cafe raved to us about its fabulous sandwiches and soups. We had the 1/2 sandwich+soup. The price was pretty reasonable, the cranberry mayo in the turkey sandwich most intriguingly yummy and the lobster bisque was slurpily delicious with a generous amount of lobster meat. My husband and I both enjoyed our sandwich+soup tremendously.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Soup to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tucked into a small storefront on the Main Street of Niantic is a tiny soup and sandwich shop that will knock your socks off. The immensely talented chef says that he stays awake nights thinking up new soups. His insomnia is our gain. Each day features at least six soups, anchored by a luscious bisque. Cream of broccoli burst with green, fresh flavor. The complex flavors of Italian sweet sausage and tortellini exploded on the tongue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bisque.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The chef knows how to make an awesome bisque!!!

I don't like seafood and I love the lobster crab bisque!

But wait, is there a better bique than this? YES! Peach pumpkin bisque, to die for!

I will drive from hartford to niantic on a craving of peach pumpkin bisque!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Little place, big taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Yes, as everyone on tripadvisor has said, the lobsyter crab bisque is the best I have ever had. Perfect amount of Sherry in it. Have not had the same reaction to other foods, but did I say the Bisque is awesome?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eclectic Chef also viewed

Niantic, Mystic Country
 
Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eclectic Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.