We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Always Get What You Want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlies Place Restaurant & Lounge

Charlies Place Restaurant & Lounge
26 West Main, Niantic, CT 06357
+1 860-739-2975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Niantic
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: From pastas to seafood we have all
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Can't Always Get What You Want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We arrived at this diner at about 1:30 for lunch. The diner was cute, comfortable booths, extensive menu. I spotted stuffed peppers on the menu and immediately knew that is what I wanted. The waitress took our orders, brought me the salad that came with the meal and then came back 10 minutes later to advise me they had no stuffed peppers. My choice for lunch would have been a salad if I had not already eaten a house salad. She obviously should have advised me of this shortage sooner. I quickly chose a eggplant sandwich instead. It was actually very good but not what I really wanted. I think a little more communication is needed between the servers and cooks. If an item is on the lunch menu it should be available.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Lyme, CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Variety of choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Good diner food, lots of choices on the menu, some Greek dishes as well. Most Diners serve breakfast all day, but not here. It is only served during breakfast hours.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solid Bet for good food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I have been going to the Niantic diner for a number of years and can truly recommend this eatery for its reasonably priced good food. It is a family place where you can take you kids to dinner without having to take a bank loan out. The establishment is what one would expect from a diner - casual open rooms with booths along the walls and a few tables in the center. There are two dining rooms one adjacent to the bar and the other a larger area off to one side upon entry. The restaurant is always clean and neat. The staff is congenial and will always greet you with a smile. They spend whatever time needed with you to ensure your dining experience is to your satisfaction. The majority of the staff have been there for a few years and are very efficient and know what they are doing.

The menu is rather large be it breakfast, lunch or dinner with board specials that should not be overlooked. The food is always fresh, served hot and taste great. Don't miss the fish sandwich for lunch as it is excellent. Dinner entree's are large portions guaranteed not to leave you hungry. The chicken parm is a favorite of mine. Don't miss the Monday - Wednesday special of two entree's (your choice) and a bottle of a modest wine for $20. Hard to beat and in these times a super value.

I highly recommend the Niantic diner for a great casual evening of good food without emptying your wallet.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“geat quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

nice and comfy food pretty good and the Ice tea was awesome

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
1 review
“Great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Great service- waitress was personable, efficient and attentive without being smothering. Food was great, came quickly and was reasonably priced. Try the seafood!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlies Place Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 
Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 

Been to Charlies Place Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlies Place Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.