We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Blueberry Blintzes on the Road :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Colony Diner

Blue Colony Diner
Church Hill Rd, Exit 10 off I-84, Newtown, CT 06470
203-426-0745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Newtown
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Blueberry Blintzes on the Road :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across this lovely place on a road trip to Massachusetts and fell for it. We are avid believers in the fun of road side diners and Blue Colony is great. The servers are always friendly and the food is very tasty. Personally I'm a sucker for sweets and theirs are bar none the tastiest. The blueberry blintzes are not heavy or overly doused in syrupy messiness (which is what most places do to avoid making these rather easy treats from scratch), rather these are luscious, soft, fluffy, and cheesy covered in blueberry awesomeness! The omelets are overly large and completely stuffed with your choice of really lovely toppings from feta to spinach and more, the coffee (and am I not overly fond of American coffee) is actually really smooth and mellow without being overly acidic. Overall a great stop on any trip up the Eastern Seaboard.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    89
    44
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire,connecticut
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Will not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Waiter pleasant and baked goods looked fantastic. I had eggs, canadian bacon home fries and rye toast with a cup of fruit. The fruit seemed to be fresh but was swimming in what tasted like canned fruit liquid. The potatoes were mushy and there was a brown residue in my dish from either the eggs or bacon. One of the most unappetizing meals ever! However my daughter had the French toast and my husband had a waffle which they thought was ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Gem of a Diner, HUGE menu, Popular with Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Blue Colony is right off of Interstate 84, very easy to get on and off the highway. The food is excellent diner food, huge servings and reasonable. Breakfast is always available, while the lunch and dinner menu is 8 pages long ranging from classic diner food to Greek specialities. Chicken gyro was perfect. Cheese blintzes were just like in NYC. Fresh baked Challah bread too. The waitresses are classic retro. The place is huge too, so never a wait. We always plan to make a stop when traveling by here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanic Falls, Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Reliable, Excellent Road Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stop at Blue Colony every time we travel by on I84, even if we are not hungry. It is very easy to hop on and off the highway. The food is plentiful, good, inexpensive, and the waitresses are always full of attitude... which I really enjoy. Breakfast is always available, and the coffee is always hot and good. I also like the rueben plate, and the mousaka. Get an eclair to go, and a loaf of fresh baked Challah bread too, it makes killer french toast. I have even met friends from Maine when stopping, it is a popular place with locals as well as travellers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch that over flows the plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

i had a chicken parmesan for lunch and the portion was so large it overflowed my plate. On another day I had the Deluxe Cheeseburger and it was prepared perfectly! I see why the locals all give it as the place to go

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Colony Diner also viewed

 

Been to Blue Colony Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Colony Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.