We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I scream, you scream...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferris Acres Creamery

Ferris Acres Creamery
Route 302, Newtown, CT 06470
(203) 426-8803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Newtown
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I scream, you scream...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

...we all scream for the best ice cream around. Hands down this place rocks the frozen stuff like nobody's business. Creative flavors, all made on premise with fresh ingredients. Trust me, you could point to any flavor and you won't be disappointed.

One note - if you go after dinner on any summer evening you will wait in line with 100 of your closest friends. However, the creamery staff knows how to keep the line moving at a steady pace. You'll also enjoy the smell of the cows if the wind isn't being kind to you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    3
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Uhhh, AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a find! At a dairy farm, this is some of the best ice cream I've had! Obviously, I'm late to the game, as the place was crowded and had a non-stop flow of customers. If you're in the area, this is the place for I've cream .. even if you weren't planning to have ice cream. A definite stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Ferris Creamery. It came highly recommended by a friend. There are many flavors to choose from. My husband had the dark chocolate ice cream with hard chocolate topping. I had the chocolate yogurt with peanut butter cup. My yogurt was so flavorful and rich tasting. My husband liked his a lot too. There is only outdoor seating- chairs and tables. The views are very relaxing. They close for the season the end of October.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Once you have ice cream here at the Creamery in Newtown, CT, you won't want to go anywhere else! I live 1/2 hour away, but it's well worth the drive. It is always a treat, to get the creamiest, freshest ice cream. No matter what the flavor, it tastes as though it was just made that morning. There are so many delicious flavors to try, and such great concoctions! The portions are huge and the prices reasonable. I always end up getting the child size, and it's plenty! I have also discovered their ice cream cakes that you may special order with your favorite flavors. A great place for a birthday cake and again, the right price. The atmosphere makes me feel like a kid again. The cows are across the street on the rolling hills, and the barn right behind the ice cream "barn". Benches and tables are available to sit and enjoy your treat. There is always a line, but what would you expect for the greatest ice cream??! We will be heading over there again soon before they close for the winter. YUM

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I am an ice cream lover and I can certainly say they have the best ice cream in the World !!!

The only negative about this place is that unfortunately they close during the winter :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferris Acres Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Ferris Acres Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferris Acres Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.