We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Delight

Thai Delight
133 Mount Pleasant Road, Newtown, CT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Newtown
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Newtown, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Every meal has been a treat thus far. The Drunk Noodle dish was fantastic and could barely finish it.

Small inside, but clean and appropriately decorated.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Well, to start off I love PadThai! This restaurant has the best I've had. Their spring rolls are also a must get, so good! I go here almost every week... I have an obsession! Atmosphere is lacking a bit, but their food makes up for it big time. The service is not terrible and nothing to rave about, it's just fine as it is. I love love love this place!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious thai take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We have ordered pad thai, wings, fried rice and spring rolls along with the soup & dumplings from here. Everything tastes really good and the spice levels are always proper. This was a great find for us esp since we lack thai/Malaysian/Vietnamese restaurants in the neighborhood.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WHAT THAI FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having been born in Thailand and grown up eating thai food I find the reviews for this restaurant to be off the mark. The food is a poor imitation of Oriental fare and the flavors are lacking. the nuances of Thai cusine. The place is small service is so so. There is a total lack of Thai charm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am always excited for Thai food, the flavor explosion is just amazing.

So as per usual when I saw Thai delight I was excited to try it out. Parking is tough, its a small place, and tables are limited. Its also quite cold and drafty due to the door being right in the middle.

Perhaps it was not their number 1 chef working the Saturday night I went, but the only flavor that came through again and again was fish sauce. Thai mango salad, tasted primarily of fish sauce, dipping sauce for dumplings tasted like fish sauce, Red curry tasted like red curry, but the chicken w thai basil tasted like fish sauce.

Its true there arent many Thai restaurants to choose from in that area so beggars cant be choosers right ? Still though I doubt I'd go back . Maybe, but Id have to be right in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Delight also viewed

 

Been to Thai Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Delight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.