We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New London

Holiday Inn New London
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn New London to your Saves list
Holiday Inn New London
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Governor Winthrop Boulevard, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly New London Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New London
MERIDA, YUC, MEXICO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Conveniently located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Close tomajor attractions in the area, the fort, the sub's museum, Mystic scenic rd, conveniently located close to I-95 if you are in your way to NYC from New England, but the best treat is their warm and large pool, well at least larger than most of the hotels.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
23
32
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We traveled for a concert at Mohegan Sun. There is a shuttle the hotel has to take you there. More on that later. We were pleased with the hotel. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Check in and check out were very easy. The room was clean. The rooms are LARGE. We had two queen beds. The pillows are extremely comfortable. They offer soft and firm and you have plenty to choose from. If you need more you just call and they will supply you more. We did not need more.

The shuttle: They are free. You MUST make reservations. Make them as soon as possible. We found out the reservations fill up fast. The first shuttle leaves at 5 pm. I believe the shuttles only run on Friday and Saturday. Make sure you arrive to get to the shuttle earlier than 5 minutes prior to the time they are supposed to leave. We arrived 5 minutes before the shuttle was supposed to leave (note: we did have reservations) and the shuttle was gone. Obviously someone else took our spot. The hotel did make good and reimbursed us for a cab. On the way back the shuttle was kind of a pain in the butt. But - it was free. We again made reservations for 1230 pm and the shuttle was about 40 minutes late. It was cold and rainy so not pleasant to wait outside. Luckily there is an overhang so you aren't in the rain. There is room for 12 on the shuttle and this driver decided to pack in 15. He did kind of ask for room numbers to make sure you had reservations, but obviously there were people on who did not. But again, it was free.

The hotel does have a restaurant with a small bar. You can pay extra to have a "breakfast voucher" or just go in and buy it yourself. We did not eat there. Went to an absolutely GREAT diner a few minutes away by walking called (Monica's) State Street Diner. CLEAN and the best breakfast. Anyway... back to the hotel restaurant. We didn't eat there but had some beers. Ice cold beer! We had a snack of calamari. My husband loved them, I thought they were alright. BUT ... we spoke with a number of patrons and they all said the food was superb. One gentleman was so happy with his meal he stood up and asked us all how we thought of it and how pleased he was. Everyone around us was extremely pleased. Again, the staff there was very friendly.

There is only one entrance to the hotel and that is in the front, so if you park in the back you have to drag your luggage around. Not a problem unless the weather is bad. They do have a few spots across the front entrance along they street that is short term parking, so take advantage of those. Bring your stuff in, then go out and move the car.

The elevators are slow. Whoopie-flip. I don't get bothered by this but this seems to be very important to some.

This hotel is well within walking distance to many restaurants, bars/pubs and shops. The town is right next to the water and it is absolutely lovely. We visited in early December, so it was pretty much a ghost town. Not many people out and about. Even the Irish bar (Hanafins Irish Pub - I recommend this place) was not at all crowded on a Friday night. We figured everyone must be at the casino. I would love to see this town in the summer. There are a lot of really cool looking places in town.

Room Tip: Of course always request a quiet room when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has a touch of class that is rarely seen in most Holiday Inns. I found everything to be in good repair. Although I didn't use it, I found that the indoor pool looked nice and had a large patio area surrounding it. The exercise room was large and had 2 good size televisions in it along with cardio, free weights, incline bench, jump rope, and Swiss Balls. The cardio equipment could use updating, but I find that at most hotels these days. Also, I had dinner two nights in the La Luna restaurant inside the hotel, and it was great both nights. I discovered that it's a family run restaurant and the menu reflects the creativeness of that family. If I have business in the area again, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We are very happy to hear about your experience at our facility. We take pride in our newly renovated space and love that you have expressed your satisfaction!

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Sincerely,
Brenda Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night here and had a great night's rest. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. It was just what we needed after a long drive. I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and you found our rooms to be clean and spacious. We look forward to having as our guest again soon!

Sincerely,
Brenda Ball
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel Saturday night for the Dierks Bentley concert at Mohegan Sun. The room was pretty big, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The complaints that I have is that the shuttle only starts running at 5pm and there is a charge for the Shuttle, but honestly the hotel is about 10 miles from Mohegan. We decided to drive the short distance. The other complaint is that the restaurant does not stay open all day. Breakfast is from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. and the restaurants closes for lunch. We went to 9:30 mass and got back to the hotel hoping to have a cup of coffee, but the restaurant was already closed.

That said- I would definitely stay at the location again. The people were very nice and the price was great.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your recent stay. I'm glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable and you would stay with us again. I'm sorry that we did not meet all your expectations in regards to shuttle and restaurant hours. We take your feedback seriously and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

stayed here 2 nights in late Sept, of this year. A well run hotel with very clean rooms/bathrooms. A very convenient spot to stay if you're visiting other nearby attractions i.e. Newport,R.I., Mystic, Conn, Old Saybrook, Conn., etc.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay. I'm glad you found the hotel clean and the location convenient to area attractions. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Newly renovated, clear attention to comfort. Our unit was roomy, the bed was really comfy, the lighting was good, and the staff was friendly. Home run for Holiday Inn!!! We also stopped into the bar/restaurant for a few drinks before and after our event. The bar was very basic, couldn't make a couple drinks we asked for and closed at 11:00 pm not a great place but clean and quiet if that's what your looking for, Hotel is great.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit R, General Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thanks for staying with us at Holiday Inn New London. I'm glad it was a pleasant stay and you found the room comfortable and staff friendly. I will share your comments about your bar experience with restaurant management. Please stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn New London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New London

Address: 35 Governor Winthrop Boulevard, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly New London Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-New London has expertly managed facilities and staff offering 100% guest satisfaction.Located just one mile off I-95 in New London, midway between Boston & New York, two blocks from the Amtrak Station, Orient Point, Long Island & Block Island Ferries, 15 minutes from the Groton-New London Airport, 45 minutes from T.F. Green Airport & Bradley Airport.The Holiday Inn-New London offers 120 well appointed guestrooms, including 4 deluxe suites. Rooms are available with complimentary high speed wireless Internet, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and iron boards. We have an elegant Grand Ballroom with flexible meeting and banquet space for up to 300 people. We have our Lobby Cafe for up to 150 for cocktail parties, also our Eagle Room or Board Room for more intimate meetings or private dinners. Enjoy our indoor heated pool and fitness center. O's Bar & Grille Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in an atmosphere conducive to both business and casual dining. Room service is available.Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino are located nearby. The Holiday Inn-New London offers evening shuttle service available to the Mohegan Sun Casino on Friday and Saturday evenings at a minimum cost of $15.00 round trip per person. We are located 10 minutes from Mystic Aquarium, Mystic Seaport, U.S. Naval Sub Base, USS Nautilus Memorial, New London Ocean Beach Park, Harkness Memorial Park, Eugene O’Neill Theater & USCG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn New London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New London Radisson
Radisson New London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.